We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$236
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Expedia.com
$197
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$189
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Pam Es
Christchurch, New Zealand

Ideal Location with a Fantastic Attached Bar

Review of Kelvin Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024
The location couldn't have been better – it was so convenient to walk to all the nearby attractions and explore the city. Plus, having a bar attached to the place was a huge bonus. It made grabbing a drink or two after a day of exploring so easy and enjoyable.

I highly recommend staying here if you want to be in the heart of the action and have everything within walking distance. The combination of the perfect location and the fantastic attached bar made my trip truly memorable.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$344
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $343
  • Agoda.com
    $312
  • Expedia.com
    $344
0.2 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
295 on Tay Motel at night
Booking.com
$168
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $168
  • Agoda.com
    $168
1.3 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Priceline
    $157
  • Vio.com
    $157
1.0 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $135
  • Agoda.com
    $119
  • Hotels.com
    $125
1.5 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free parking
Quest Invercargill Exterior
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • Agoda.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $230
0.3 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • ZenHotels.com
    $206
3.5 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queens Park Motels Entrance from Alice Street
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
    $153
  • Agoda.com
    $151
1.8 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$143
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $143
  • Agoda.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
    $143
1.0 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Hotels.com
    $148
  • ZenHotels.com
    $133
3.2 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $135
  • Agoda.com
    $114
  • Hotels.com
    $133
4.7 km from Kelvin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Invercargill
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
63
101
54
28
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
101
54
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king suite modern hotel room was spacious good size stewart island a great place to stay convenient location bluff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2024

Stayed at Kelvin Hotel for 3 nights after a hiking accident brought me to Invercargill. I was traveling alone and the Duty Manager provided very exceptional service by pushing the wheelchair to the nearby mall daily, so I can get my medicine and lunch. Considering the cast on my leg and the crutches/wheelchair I had to use, my few days stay in Invercargill was made pleasant by staying in Kelvin Hotel.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank BlueMoonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelvin Hotel, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2024

Hi, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Kelvin Hotel. We're glad that our Duty Manager was able to provide exceptional service and make your stay pleasant despite the circumstances. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2023

Spent a night at the Kelvin recently due to work bringing me in town.
Centrally located in the CBD handy to restaurants, bars and a short walk to the SIT campus and Supermarkets etc.
The hotel itself comes across as dated and is in need of refurbishment in some areas.
The room itself was OK. Older style, worn in places with tired decor and the bathroom was crying out for a revamp. However it was clean and tidy enough, with the minimun basics required for a comfortable enough stay.
My biggest issue with the Kelvin was the lack of sleep I ended up getting. It appears the internal hotel room walls are made of tissue paper, meaning noise was a huge issue. One could hear EVERYTHING happening in neighbouring rooms. So amoungst slamming doors and after several hours of listening to the chap next door continuously wheeling & dealing on his cellphone, there was relief when he finally called it quits for the night. Unfortunately this was short lived as I was then serenaded with his loud snoring for the remainder of my stay. Complemented by the women on the other side watching TV into the wee small hours, before having an argument with her partner. To add a bit more excitement to my Thursday night in Invers, there was also a drunken punch up on the street outside once the bars had closed, that the police ended up having to come and attend to. In the end, i gave up on the concept of trying to get any sleep whatsoever, checked out early and went to work to get some peace and quiet in the Office before my colleagues arrived.
The Receptionist standing at the front desk didn't bother acknowledging me when I returned the room key, although maybe it was for the best as to be fair I was pretty tired and cranky by then.
Didn't utilize the food and beverage options, gaming room or bottle shop etc that's offered on-site so can't comment there.
Would I stay again? Probably not... Fine for just one night at a push, but have stayed at other similarly priced hotels in Invercargill that were far nicer ambience wise and a lot quieter.

Room tip: Would consider elsewhere as other, nicer CBD hotels available.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KiwiKat815
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2023

Great hotel have stayed there twice in the last couple of months both times the staff have been great. The beds are really comfortable the rooms are spacious and well maintained, it’s located in the centre of town but quite quiet. Highly recommend a stay there

Room tip: Stayed in level 2 and 6 both were fine but preference is level 6
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emma1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelvin Hotel, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Hi Emma! Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing our hotel twice in the past few months. We're thrilled to hear that you found our staff great and enjoyed the comfortable beds and spacious rooms. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2023 via mobile

The Kelvin hotel is an older hotel situated in the centre of Invercargill. It is of modest size, and being older doesn't have all the amenities of a modern hotel. However it was renovated just before covid. The inside is smart, clean and modern. The room was a good size with an excellent modern bathroom. It was quite cheap for the facilities on offer. It's only drawback was, as it is an older hotel, it lacks sound proofing and the bedroom was noisy at night. If this isn't a problem then it is a great place to stay. It has a great sports bar on the ground floor. It is also located at the end of the new development along Esk St. Try to get a room away from the intersections as the pedestrian crossings beep all night.

Room tip: Free parking in the H&J Smiths car park across the road
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2023 via mobile

Staying 3 nights so hoping for a room a bit bigger.
Interesting where hotels choose to put tour drivers.
Hotel comfortable with good staff.
Not a room I would choose for longer than a one night stay if at all.
Restaurant soup outstanding and food generally good.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tour-Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelvin Hotel, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

Thanks for reviewing us. Your feedback is appreciated and we take it to heart. It’s important for us know how we can better serve our customers and your comments will be shared with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews