We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ascot Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Stopped over in Invercargill on our bottom-of-the-South-Island roadtrip. There wasn't much to do here but I wouldn't have minded spending a few more nights at Ascot Park! We stayed in a motel room. It was clean, warm, spacious. Kitchenette was well-stocked. Wifi was stable. It's almost its own little village despite being only about 5 minutes drive away from the main street. If I ever get a chance to return I will definitely come back here.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lzha224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Thank you for posting your review, and we do hope that you may have the opportunity to return to the Ascot Park Hotel. Kindest Regards Bryan an the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    145
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
60
118
20
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2016

I stayed there for a 2-day conference in November. I was picked up by their luxury shuttle. The room was very spacious and could not fault. The food was excellent for both the conference and bar. The Caesar Salad was perfect. The desserts were amazing. The indoor pool was nice and relaxing though I felt that the window to the corridor should be one way so people can look out but not look in. The sauna could do with better instructions.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2017
Hello Edward
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us during your conference. Thank you for your positive post on Trip Advisor.
Kind Regards Bryan and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Who would think that a Motel in the end of the world could be so good?
The Ascot Park Hotel has a Hotel and a Motel section that is much lower priced.
I didn't expect much of the motel, it was supposed to be just a fill in between two major events.
Was I surprised how good it is
First, the room is huge. We traveled with three huge suitcases, they just disappeared...
The room is fully equipped with everything needed to live in. That includes a serious cooking corner, fridge etc.
More than that, they take you to the city and back for free on their shuttle service.
Really surprised to the best

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UAvron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
Hello and thanks for your post on Trip Advisor, we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I trust your entire journey has been a great experience.
Kind Regards Bryan and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

We had a kitchenette in our room which was very well equipped. The grounds are immaculate. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Beds are very comfortable. Town close by. Quiet location even though its in the highway.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2016
Hello Megan

Thank you for your post on Trip advisor, we appreciate your kind and positive comments. Wishing you a fantastic Festive Season
Kind Regards Bryan and the Ascot Park Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Ascot Park Hotel for one night, in a renovated hotel room.
The room itself was great - clean, well-appointed, and with all the required amenities.
The gardens around the complex are also beautifully maintained, and the staff were all really helpful.
The restaurant on site was fantastic!! A really pleasant surprise, as we were just hoping for somewhere for a quick meal. Everything we ordered was delicious, and the fit out is modern and welcoming.

The only downside to this place is the foyers to get to the rooms and the reception entry. All very 'early 1990's'. Very dated, worn out and has that 'old' smell.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SGWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan T, General Manager at Ascot Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2016
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and trust we may be of service again in the future.
Kind Regards Bryan & the Ascot Park Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Invercargill hotels
2.6 km away
Tower Lodge Motel
Tower Lodge Motel
#1 of 33 in Invercargill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.5 km away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#15 of 33 in Invercargill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.5 km away
Balmoral Lodge Motel
Balmoral Lodge Motel
#6 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
Admiral Court Motel & Apartments
#3 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.3 km away
Invercargill TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.6 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#10 of 33 in Invercargill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Park Hotel
Address: Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill 9840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Invercargill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Invercargill
#3 Business Hotel in Invercargill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Invercargill
#5 Family Hotel in Invercargill
Price range (per night): $105 - $197
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invercargill's largest accommodation property, the Ascot Park Hotel is Qualmark rated 4 Star, comprising of 116 Hotel, Motel and Suite accommodation. Set in park like surrounds the Ascot Park Hotel is the ideal place to stay with ample car parking, indoor heated pool and fitness centre. The award winning Emberz Bar and Restaurant is the ideal place to dine or wind down after a busy day. A wide choice of Conference facilities are also offered for your business needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Park Invercargill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing