We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Booking.com
US$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Agoda.com
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/05/22
PricelineUS$90
Hotels.comUS$82
TravelocityUS$82
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
47
35
12
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
47
35
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath bed was comfortable separate bedroom great value for money one night washing machine close to town would stay again great place to stay tv unit motel heater laundry carpet oven bonus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2021 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the Colonial. It was nice and spacious for five people and close to all amenities. Invercargill is a great place for a holiday. Thank you for a memorable time.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Fam2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam Zhao, General Manager at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2022

Thank you for a wonderful five star review! We're so happy to hear that you found our services to surpass all of your expectations.

Kind regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2021 via mobile

Misleading

We haven’t wanted to write this review however in fairness to other people considering staying they need to be aware they may not get what they think they are paying for.

The room we stayed in was NOTHING like the photos on the website. The website shows photos of beautifully modern rooms. We had a very old room which was extremely dated. The bathroom was last updated in the 1980’s and has a peach coloured Spa bath with a shower over it). it is high to get into so if you have any issues with mobility would be a nightmare. The mirror had a massive crack in the middle of it which ran from top to bottom. The heater blew cold air and the water pressure was awful at best (note fo don’t turn on the kitchen taps when someone is in the shower - the water goes cold)!!!!
The bedding is very light weight so we were pleased it wasn’t overly cold temperatures.
The owners weren’t around at any stage we visited the office over the 2 days we were there so never saw them to discuss. They weren’t there on our arrival or checkout. We didn’t arrive late or check out early.

Not double glazed so we were able to hear the boy racers with their cars for about 4 hours one night. Could hear the guests in the neighbouring room talking during the night both nights (11pm one night and 1am the next night)

The thing we are most disappointed in that the photos on your website are misleading and not an accurate representation of the room we stayed in.

Unfortunately this was our first and last stay here

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rjpejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam Zhao, General Manager at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2021

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us.

We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.

We have looked into each issue that you have noted, many thanks for your feedback to correct and improve our hotel facilities.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We truly appreciate your words.

Kind Regards,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We were very happy with our stay at the Colonial Motel.
Family apartment was clean, spacious and newly renovated.
Excellent location. Close to town and good off street parking.
We would stay again. Great value.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam Zhao, General Manager at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2022

Thank you for a wonderful five star review! We're so happy to hear that you found our services to surpass all of your expectations.

Kind regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2021 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. It is an older motel but is clean, warm and beds were very comfortable. Bonus having a separate bedroom, 2 televisions, free use of washing machine & an oven! Great value for money.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dinah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam Zhao, General Manager at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2022

Thank you for a wonderful five star review! We're so happy to hear that you found our services to surpass all of your expectations.

Kind regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020 via mobile

We got the two bed motel into. It was dated but lovely and clean and allot bigger then expected. The beds were very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms well appointed.
The icing on the cake was Connie the beautiful cat who spent the evening with us.
I would stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank crazyjo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam Zhao, General Manager at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2022

Thank you for a wonderful five star review! We're so happy to hear that you found our services to surpass all of your expectations.

Kind regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews