We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks All The Boxes”
Review of The Batch Cafe

The Batch Cafe
Ranked #1 of 28 Quick Bites in Invercargill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe & restaurant offering fresh local cuisine masterminded by our talented team. Choose from our menu served until 2 pm daily, or call ahead to order if you are on the run. We love using locally sourced goodness, made fresh for you each and every day. A little bit about our Hummingbird Coffee blend, Re:start is a complex composition of nine different single origins, all roasted by hand separately before blending. The single small ‘batch’ roasting offers the opportunity to have the same coffee in the blend roasted both medium and a wee bit darker.
Reviewed 27 April 2024

We read reviews for the various cafes fir Invercargille and The Batch seemed to come out on top. The place was packed and we shared a big table with a family. My Vietnamese pancake was different and delicious. My wife's blue cod was very tasty and had an interesting aioli to go with it. The coffee, not my usul choice of coffee was also fantastic. The counter and the waitstaff with smiley, helpful, attentive and courteous.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markdalebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2024

This cafe consistently provides friendly, timely service and delicious food, no matter how busy it is. Ive had such great experiences there I keep coming back.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Freedom21647436084
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

We had lunch here on a busy Sunday. The first time we called in it was so busy we went away, however on returning we found a table and we're so pleased we did. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and coffee excellent.
The Batch is well worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank MandyJKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024 via mobile

I thought they had a very good selection to choose from between the options at the counter and menu on the board. The service was very good and I really enjoyed my food, it was well presented and tasted very good. Definitely worth a visit if in the area

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Irish_Kiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024

This cafe is certainly a hidden gem in Invercargill, although a lot of people seem to know about it based on how full it was when our group ate lunch there Saturday. Everyone enjoyed their meals immensely with healthy food options, largish servings and excellent friendly service. I personally had seafood chowder with grain bread and a side of mushrooms. The chowder bowl was deep and hot, just how Iike it. I even bought something to takeaway to have for dinner, so tempting it was. There are also a large number of delicious sweet treats.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Batch Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Batch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.