We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely good, but overhyped”
Review of The Batch Cafe

The Batch Cafe
Ranked #1 of 19 Quick Bites in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cafe & restaurant offering fresh local cuisine masterminded by our team choose from the all day menu served from 7am until 2pm. Need something on the run? Call ahead to order and grab a bite to eat from our cabinet - EVERY item is packed full of locally sourced goodness, made fresh for you each and every day. Our Hummingbird Coffee blend has quite a backstory: About Re:start: Hummingbird Coffee was invited to join the initial reopening of the Christchurch CBD. They designed and constructed a fully operating café out of three 40 foot extra high shipping containers. Along with this, they designed and developed Re:start the blend; a extremely complex composition of nine different single origins, all roasted by hand separately before blending. It’s this approach of single small ‘batch’ roasting that offers the opportunity to have the same coffee in the blend roasted both medium and a wee bit darker.
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The decor & atmosphere is straight up amazing & would deserve a 5 on it's own- definitely a wee haven in Invers that would not be out of place in a bigger city, however, that's about all the Batch can offer over and above other cafes. The coffee is good, yes, and usually consistent, but not lifechangingly so, the staff is competent and friendly, but the service isn't standout and the wait times are often quite long. Definitely worth a visit, but if they're super busy you might have a better time somewhere else.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank PhillieH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 429 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2016

We keep going back here everyday for breakfast and lunch because the whole experience was great and the staff and food made it the place to be.

Would recommend this place to anyone who wants a good meal and great enviroment

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DawnH2537
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Batch Cafe 173 Spey Street

The Batch continues as being the finest place for a well-crafted and hearty breakfast in Invercargill.
I strolled into the Spey Street address on a chilly morning at 0700hrs and already there was a half full restaurant and a group of early risers gathered around the Barista lining up for an early morning hit.

I chose the Eggs Benedict with extra bacon and a large Flat White. Soon enough the coffee was on my table and I had enough time to peruse the OTYD before my mains arrived.
Two drop poached eggs on toasted Ciabatta, slices of crispy bacon and a smooth creamy mayonnaise that was obviously made in house. The meal was very good, runny yolks ,crispy bacon and a dream mayonnaise. Another Flat white completed an excellent breakfast.

Upside
Great food
Good Service
Early opening

Downside
I live in Nelson the Batch is in Invercargill I only get there about once a year.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ralph777051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

The food was ok and have to wait long until we were fed. Busy place and most of the staff stayed behind the counter with no one to clear the tables.

Date of visit: August 2016
5  Thank lagawanako
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

This contemporary cafe ticks all the boxes. Friendly staff, great food and excellent coffee. Whenever we visit Invercargill we invariably end up here for brunch, lunch or just a coffee. It's always busy and humming. A great selection of baked treats - slices, friands, muffins, scones and cakes. The salads, sandwiches and pastries are wholesome and well presented. The main menu is varied, portion sizes are large but most of all the standard is consistently high. It's tough to find really good employees but these guys have found the magic formula and every single person who works there cares about what they're doing. We've been visiting here every month for five years and highly recommend. We're looking forward to checking out their sister cafe when it opens in November. Well done team Batch!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MissBossyBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Batch Cafe also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Batch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.