We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a must when in Invercargill!”

Amigos Invercargill
Ranked #45 of 120 Restaurants in Invercargill
Description: At Amigos, we’ve been serving hot Mexican and cool margaritas since we opened our first restaurant in Wanaka in 1995. Since then, we’ve expanded to more locations around the South Island to share our love for Mexican food. Whether you’re looking for a place to have a fun and lively date night or the next location for your function, we’ve got you covered. And of course, we invite you to join us for the best day of the week, Taco Tuesday, where every one of our delicious tacos is only $5!
Restaurant details
Description: At Amigos, we’ve been serving hot Mexican and cool margaritas since we opened our first restaurant in Wanaka in 1995. Since then, we’ve expanded to more locations around the South Island to share our love for Mexican food. Whether you’re looking for a place to have a fun and lively date night or the next location for your function, we’ve got you covered. And of course, we invite you to join us for the best day of the week, Taco Tuesday, where every one of our delicious tacos is only $5!
Reviewed 21 May 2024 via mobile

Amazing hospitality, amazing food! Santana and the staff went above and beyond to cater our Family of 24. Food was delicious and come out so quickly!

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank carmsr2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2024

Amazing food!
We had a wonderful starter, guacamole, followed by three veggie and the tempura prawn soft tacos. The mushroom was so delicious so well seasoned and range of textures, the jackfruit was yum and my daughter said hers were delicious too. We had beers and then churros which were so good, I’ve never had good churros before. So highly recommend. If you are in Invercargil go there!

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Janet031
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

We come here as a couple relatively often (not very toddler friendly as there isn’t a lot of space) and really enjoy our meals. There are often deals on either Taco Tuesdays, or on their monthly newsletter.
We have yet to find a taco we don’t like, and the churros are delicious. As others have said, it can feel a little cramped when full but that also gives it a nice atmosphere so it depends what you’re looking for.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank NZJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2023 via mobile

Awesome lively atmosphere and food! Always busy which I think is testament to its popularity. Great for dining with friends, family of for a date night. Only area for improvement is the tables are a bit too close together which can lead to a claustrophobic feeling - could maybe make more use of the outdoor space in summer?

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Pioneer06227751406
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2023 via mobile

There wasn't much room to be able to stand up and walk between tables when arriving and leaving.
They lost out order's twice, and we had to wait almost an hr each time they forgot us.
The drinks were good but the restaurant was very loud and cramped.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Essiebur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Amigos Invercargill also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Amigos Invercargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.