We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing- not what it used to be.”
Review of Waxy's Irish Pub

Waxy's Irish Pub
Reserve a table
Ranked #11 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Great pub with large dining restuarant - good varied menu and on the main shopping street in Invercargill - usually pretty busy place.
Reviewed 18 March 2024

I have been to Waxy's on many of my visits to Invercargill over the last 20 years, but this time it was rather disappointing. Five or six years ago Waxy's provided good quality, wholesome and reasonably priced meals. But prices are now higher than many other eateries in the city. It is no longer good value for money. I had the pasta dish and I felt it ws mediocre- reasonably filling, but bland and tasteless. I was very disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anthony19482014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Cain, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hey Anthony, we are sorry that your most recent visit didn't meet expectations. We have passed this onto the rest of the team and will endeavour to ensure that quality is meet. Cheers from the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2024

Had tea here last night . Food was outstanding and huge servings. There was a great playlist on with cool music. Plenty of privacy where we were dining in the booth and the service was very good.
Definitely not waiting so long to come here again.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Cain, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Hi Clare! Thank you so much for the beautiful review. We're thrilled to hear you had a great experience and we look forward to serving you again! See you soon! The Waxys Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

We were really excited for wings Monday - headed into waxys ordered our wings then were told they only had 20 left. Wings arrived - hot on the outside but cold in the middle. One of us got the pasta special too, was also below average. Would not rush back at all. Shared feedback with waitress and she just said well they are reheated, wonder if that’s the case with the soggy chips too! Poor experience.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank SophieP3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Cain, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Hi Sophie, we are sorry to hear our Monday specials were not up to expectation. We have passed on this message to the chefs to ensure this doesn't happen again. Cheers, from the Waxys crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023

Had been here a year ago and the food was good, so decided to come back as was back in Invercargill for a night.
we had the duck wontons which were really good, the steak, and the pork shoulder.

normally I don't get pork as it is often dry, but this was one of the best, if not the best pork meal I have had anywhere.
covered in a nice sauce, not dry, had some crackling, with good stuffing.
mashed potatoes are always so homely and comforting.

enjoyed the whole meal, and big enough I didn't quite finish it.

the butterscotch waffle desert put me over the top on fullness, and I waddled back to the hotel down the road.

great meal, good service, will be back again when in town next

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sightsee30349777698
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Cain, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2023

We are so glad to here you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing you back when your in town next. Cheers, from the Waxys crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2023

food amazing we all had different meals and all presented to a very high standard .Staff very friendly and welcoming will definitely be back

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank farmingking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Cain, General Manager at Waxy's Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Hi there, thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us :) We look forward to serving you again soon! Slainte, The Waxys Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waxy's Irish Pub also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Waxy's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.