We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good curry but watch the prices”

The Malabar Kitchen
Ranked #50 of 120 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 June 2020 via mobile

We tried this place for takeaway because it’s so close to home. The curries were good (nothing mindblowing, but good). But the service...
The order according to website prices should have been $32.80 but when my partner returned they had charged him $39.50 for 2 medium curries and a naan. Given this price increase, if the 2 curries had been upgraded to larges and an extra naan added, it would have met the deal for $33 and saved us 6.50. But they never said anything and gladly charged us more. This put a sour taste in our mouths and means we won’t be returning - there are enough other good curry houses in town.

Date of visit: May 2020
1  Thank NZJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2020

Highly recommended for anyone looking for South Indian delicacies. Very close to dishes you will find in south India especially Kerala. Suggest you order items that aren’t usually found in Indian restaurants here- you can thank me later.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Isaacanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2019

Excellent service and clean restaurant, masala dosa was really nice and enjoyed Malabar special biriyani..best curry in town..really liked it..dine in was full and they were busy but still yummy food.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank GlennyboyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 April 2019

Do not get carried away with the name...the food served is really BAAAAD and does NOT represent the rich flavours of Malabar / Kerala. We had to wait 25 minutes to receive a basic Masala Dosa and the other unappetising food and there was only another couple in this small unclean place. I really feel sorry for the few diners who did stop by for a take-away. Please don't go anywhere near the wash basin / toilet cause you will be shocked...and that's putting it mildly!!

Overall--2/10

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arby235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019

Restaurant isn't huge and the tables / chairs are a little basic, but clean. Ordered the chicken tikka kebab and chicken jalfrezi with naan bread. Food was really tasty, portions were generous (just the main would have easily been enough food) and the naan bread was delicious. Best part was the price - very good value. There were a few people entering to get takeaways but this is separate to the dining area. Overall, a nice meal and great value for money.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nz_travels_a_lot_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Malabar Kitchen also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to The Malabar Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.