We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best Indian food in New Zealand”

Indian at The Crescent
Ranked #10 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Price range: $3 - $36
Description: Indian at The Crescent offers a relaxed and quintessentially Indian experience. Relax at our state of art restaurant that features an all day menu with Indian region’s age-old treasured recipes. Indian at The Crescent is a locally owned and operated restaurant. Located on The Crescent in a Historic bank building, we are privileged to be part of the legacy that the building carries. This 74 seater restaurant is fully licensed and BYO. It is very spacious and has a modern elegant ambience for any occasion from business meetings to private functions or cosy dinner. We have a range of meal options available within our lunch and dinner menus. We are close to the city centre and cinema with ample parking space around. We do takeaways and deliveries in and around Invercargill and also to Stewart Island.
Restaurant details
Description: Indian at The Crescent offers a relaxed and quintessentially Indian experience. Relax at our state of art restaurant that features an all day menu with Indian region’s age-old treasured recipes. Indian at The Crescent is a locally owned and operated restaurant. Located on The Crescent in a Historic bank building, we are privileged to be part of the legacy that the building carries. This 74 seater restaurant is fully licensed and BYO. It is very spacious and has a modern elegant ambience for any occasion from business meetings to private functions or cosy dinner. We have a range of meal options available within our lunch and dinner menus. We are close to the city centre and cinema with ample parking space around. We do takeaways and deliveries in and around Invercargill and also to Stewart Island.
Reviewed 25 April 2024

There were 11 people in our group comprising 4 adults and 7 children of various ages.
From the outset, we were warmly welcomed by our host, Som. The food selection was excellent and without question, we were served the best Indian food in our 50 years in New Zealand. The environment was well-considered, the seating comfortable, and the table setting good quality. When next in Invercargill this restaurant will be top of our list. PS: the restaurant does not use sugar, additives or colorants.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

Dosa and lunch deals are so good. Staff is friendly. Beers is not too expensive and a lot of options in beverages menu. Honestly perfectly for dine in

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Ryan1761
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2024

This is a slightly harsh review as the food is good…But I ordered a pickup takeaway.. ordered 4 sets of Pompadoms only got one, didn’t notice till I got home and another 40 mins after that. Make sure you’ve got the food you’ve ordered with this place CHECK YOUR ORDER. Good food but have to rate it a 2 for service.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Mattyjjay29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Fabulous, fresh food and above average service. Great and thoroughly recommended. Excellent staff. Tasteful surroundings.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paddylewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

Wow !
Amazing curry
Could not fault the food drink location ambiance or service
Probably the best freshest chicken tikka I’ve had
Incredibly flavourful Vindaloo
Lovely onion bahgeee
Fragrant naan
Excellent recommended local Pinot noir
All in all excellent value for money too
You won’t go wrong here !
One if not the best Indians I’ve had in NZ!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank TheBurgerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Indian at The Crescent also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Indian at The Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.