We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rod m

Comfortable.

Review of Bavarian Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2024
The Unit was very clean and tidy and well serviced. Well situated for what we required. Enjoyed Netflix on a wet day.Good value for money. Despite being situated on a main road very little traffic noise. Jessica was very helpful at check in. Ideal for a short term stay.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$344
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $344
4.6 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Quest Invercargill Exterior
$180
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kelvin hotel
$142
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Bavarian Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
5.0 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
295 on Tay Motel at night
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $173
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
5.3 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Inn Tayesta hotel in Invercargill, New Zealand
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $140
  • Algotels
5.0 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our new outstanding superior room decor.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $240
  • Hotels.com
5.3 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Unit 5 (1 Bedroom)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
5.3 km from Bavarian Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Invercargill
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
36
17
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
17
8
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2024

While it may not be right in the heart of town, the value for the price and the opportunity to unwind in a peaceful setting more than compensates for the distance. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a budget-friendly getaway.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Navigate67485520601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023

The standard one bedroom unit was below standard.
Leaking electric jug , hair drier cutting out when in use, shower curtain lacking attached curtain hooks, old bedroom light without bulb left on wall and replacement supplied, one double plug not enough for the three appliances in the kitchen without safety fusing ie. multiplug , very little space to wash dishes as bench very small and electric appliances need to be removed prior, no hot and cold water labels on bathroom taps ie. tops of taps missing, shower head too low and non adjustable, stainless steel shower base uneven and not on a level surface ie. Great risk of slipping, scorched panel on wall next to oven, curtain hooks missing from lounge drapes, owners requested payment before service was completed, unit very noisy as next to busy main road with heavy trucks day and night.

Room tip: Other units may be acceptable but avoid the standard one bedroom unit.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2023

Decor rather dated. Surfaces were clean but entire place could do with a deep clean and fresh paint.
Bed was comfortable and 3x oil heaters kept us warm.
Good location for us, nearby hotel restaurant and supermarket.
No staff on site til mid afternoon… could have been an issue as there was a power outage during our stay.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DayTrip25069491803
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

Was okay for the price. Quite noisy being on corner of main room. Was very nice and warm considering the temperature outside. Overall you pay for what you get. It was ideal just for a one night stay for work

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2022 via mobile

We stayed here while on a South Island biking trip. The Unit was clean but needed a decent mattress. The one in place was far to soft and felt like a waterbed and we didn't sleep well. The motel is on a main road and was somewhat noisy well into the night. Price was reasonable. Manager/ owner was friendly. The location was not ideal for us either. Would we stay again?. We'd have to say No.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GrantT372
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews