We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Dissapointed!”
Review of Salt & Batter

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salt & Batter
Ranked #98 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 August 2021

Thought we would try this fish and chip shop as people used to rave about Salt and Pepper! We ordered half a dozen bluff Oysters, fish, battered sausages, Hot dogs and $8 chips. We're a large family and were very let down by the amount and quality of the food. Looked like $4 chips by any other shops standards, the shark was less the 1cm thick and dry. The bluff oysters were the size of a 50c piece inside the batter, the battered sausages were awful and there was no sauce on the hotdogs. Safe to say that we will not be back. Very poor quality and quantity and extremely expensive.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Reneelara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2020

Decided to try this shop for our takeaway tonight, a good decision, the blue cod, chips and oysters were cooked perfectly, didn’t have to wait long for the order. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sueR7787WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Went to salt and batter ages ago and it was lovely , best value for money, it is under new owners and thought we would try it again, i was so shocked, the chips were really hard and not enough for 2 preschoolers and 1 adult, and the fish wow I dont what went wrong but it was really burnt, it was black on one side, it looked pan fried . I never write reviews, but we would never go back there, nothing nice about it,even took 30 minutes

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank suetat2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Obviously this place is under new ownership. Just got the family some fish n chips late on a Friday for tea. Cooked a nice fish burger but the rest was a bit of a let down only because the chips hot dogs a fish were over cooked, possibly had their cookers set to high. Oddly had batter on the hotdogs were dark and overcooked, yet the meat was cold. The shop front was freezing as well. Bit if a shame as expected it to be a bit better.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank asf051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Kai was great however the process to getting has much to be desired. not only did we come to collect our order and were told that some of the items were not available , but the lady taking our order then demanded 60c for our swap out item even though we were going to have to wait longer, she couldnt successfully take our order without confusion and then couldnt realise our food was ready while we stood waiting, to make matters worse she over charged us for an item we didnt order and then did not remember our sauce .... maybe a bit more training is necessary? She was lovely in regards to her personality (smiley, bubbly etc)

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank wtarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Salt & Batter also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Salt & Batter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.