We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Outdoor Seating”
Review of Northern Tavern

Northern Tavern
Ranked #35 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 April 2024

Was pleasantly surprised by the outdoor seating area. Basking in the sun while enjoying a drink was a real treat, and the ambiance was just right for a laid-back afternoon.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Navigate67485520601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

was very suprised at the quality of food.
Was expecting greezy spoon of a tavern
Though the kitchen crew made a wonderful meal.
They even had vegan, not my choice but thought I would mention it.
congratulations.
oh great fun watching All Blacks play South Africa
will be back for more games

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank tommQ3324KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2022

Went there for a drink, partly to sus out the bar meals (we opted for the associated restaurant instead) Spacious place with friendly staff. Made use of the bottle store too.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank Kiwiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2022

I’m not one to post many food reviews but Orange roughy, prawns, scallops and arancini balls are hard to beat ! The saucy chef! Was magnificent!

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thebigfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2021

Great experience with lovely food and a good variety.. I just wish that restaurants would cater for small eaters though. Maybe have half portions available. I feel it is a sheer waste having to leave food and have it thrown out

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xtuppencex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Northern Tavern also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Northern Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.