We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic family dinner”
Review of Northern Tavern

Northern Tavern
Ranked #35 of 120 Restaurants in Invercargill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 January 2022

I’m not one to post many food reviews but Orange roughy, prawns, scallops and arancini balls are hard to beat ! The saucy chef! Was magnificent!

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thebigfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2021

Great experience with lovely food and a good variety.. I just wish that restaurants would cater for small eaters though. Maybe have half portions available. I feel it is a sheer waste having to leave food and have it thrown out

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xtuppencex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2021

We enjoyed a few beers here recently on a Sunday afternoon which were great as were the staff.
We ordered the “Land” platter at $38.50 which was a mistake as apart from the chips which were good the other deep fried things were disgusting and inedible. We left them on the platter as I don’t think even the dog would have managed to devour them.
Definitely go for a beer but avoid the Land Platter.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FourTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2020

My wife and myself have eaten at the Northern Tavern on many occasions, always at lunchtime. We have taken guests there too, our experience and theirs has been, "We will do this again". The food has always been well presented and satisfying.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2020 via mobile

Great blue cod and chips... busy sports bar and tab... everyone enjoying themselves. Tiger beer on tap .. cheers to the helpful staff

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank Red S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Northern Tavern also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Northern Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.