We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run of the Mill Pub”
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
Reserve a table
Ranked #7 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: American, International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Southern most Speight's Ale House in New Zealand. Offering only the freshest local produce along with the best tap beer selection in Invercargill.Come and experience Southlands friendly hospitality with food and wine to match everyones tastes.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Centrally located with friendly and efficient staff. Food quality was ok with a run-of-the-mill menu. Eating area is upstairs

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank WestSydBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2024

We are a family of five, 3 vegans and 2 vegetarians. We all ordered from the vegan menu because it looked absolutely delicious. We were not disappointed, the food was excellent. Stuffed mushrooms were amazing, burger was yum, the pasta a little spicy for my son but he ate all of it. Great service, lovely staff, highly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 21hollycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2024

Steak was pretty good. Cooked just right and served with delicious sides, it definitely hit the spot.

However, I was a bit disappointed with the craft beer selection. While the options were okay, I expected a bit more variety. If you're a craft beer enthusiast like myself, you might find the choices a bit limited.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Go30176375291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

A popular bar at the weekend and would recommend making a recommendation if you are a group wanting to eat here. They have a good selection of “pub grub” to select from. I had the fish and chips and it was very good. The only slightly disappointing part was after taking my order and serving my meal (which was very efficient) nobody came to see if I wanted a dessert when I finished my meal.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Irish_Kiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2024

I would recommend booking a table so you don't miss out on a lovely evening, the staff were friendly, and the food was great

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Copper-Top2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.