We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
Reserve a table
Ranked #7 of 119 Restaurants in Invercargill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $39
Cuisines: American, International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Southern most Speight's Ale House in New Zealand. Offering only the freshest local produce along with the best tap beer selection in Invercargill.Come and experience Southlands friendly hospitality with food and wine to match everyones tastes.
Reviewed 30 May 2020 via mobile

Very disappointing again. Service slow and inattentive, staff looked as if they were doing you a favour. Food cold and tasteless.
We haven't been here since January we had bad service and food. Complained thought it might of got better.
Over priced for flavourless pub food.

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank marcusmcmahon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2020

This place is just a pub, not a restaurant. Can't remember ever having been treated so rudely by waitresses, extremely unwelcoming, made to feel very uncomfortable, as we did not have a booking, seated at a table, ignored, told that we would have to wait an hour, even though we had not placed an order, other guest were served that came in after us, felt so very uncomfortable, made a very wise decision and left,

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mellummount
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Definitely the worst roast pork meal I have ever had. Meat was tough, crackling was inedible (you would need a hammer to break it) and veges were poorly cooked. Staff did not bother to check if our meals were okay and weren't interested when we went to pay and advised that the meals were not good.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nickdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2020

Close to where I was staying so I popped in for an early dinner - Had the lamb entree which was absolutely delicious, washed down with a Speights Summer. This was just the right size, which left room for the Creme Brulee, which was the best ever.
Very helpful and friendly staff, and I was made to feel welcome even as a solo diner.
Thank you girls.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HeatherG488
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Great food, good drinks list and a warm ambiance deliver by the friendly team at the Speight’s Ale House. Meals are classic and generous. Popular spot so a booking is recommended

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 
Invercargill, Southland Region
Invercargill, Southland Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.