We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jo T
Brisbane

Great place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024
We stayed here for two nights and wish it was for a lot more. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and had everything we needed. Check in was super easy and friendly. You would think being on a main road it would be noisy, but it wasn't. The best bit though was having the heated tiles in the bathroom!! Bliss! It wasn't even that cold, but to get out of the shower and onto a warm floor was wonderful (being from Queensland Australia, that is not something we would normally experience). It was within walking distance of good food (Budda Stix - great Thai and The Good Earth cafe, great breakfast). I would not recommend Oaken cafe which is right next door to the motel. The service was nice, but the food was very average.
Would absolutely recommend to stay here. The only thing to be cautious about, is the car park, it's a bit tight and out in the open, but as long as you are aware, it is fine. Dunedin is a fabulous place, go visit!!!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete and Morag Firns, Owner at 538 Great King Motel, responded to this review
Responded 5 Apr 2024
Thank you Jo for choosing to stay at 538 Great King and for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and that you found so much to like about the motel and the location. We are fortunate to have quite a few eating establishments within easy walking distance and pleased you enjoyed the Good Earth and Buddha Stix. Whilst the carpark is open at the street frontage, it is well lit throughout the night. Thanks for recommending us.
Pete and Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$186
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $186
0.1 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$228
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Dunedin Leisure Lodge Main Entrance Daytime SG
Tripadvisor
$178
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$157
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.0 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
Tripadvisor
$186
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
$209
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Algotels
1.9 km from 538 Great King Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
139
16
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
139
16
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews otago university great location fantastic accommodation compact room buddha stix powerful shower place to stay friendly hosts comfortable beds the main shopping area well equipped kitchenette awesome stay within walking distance late at night upstairs room city centre four nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2024

We were lucky enough to stay here for 2 nights while we were in Dunedin for a concert. The hosts were so helpful, the rooms are amazingly tidy and well maintained and the whole premises was quiet, with no street noise heard in the rooms. Its location means that you are a short walk from the octagon, the university and the stadium which makes it perfect for any purpose.. There’s even an amazing cafe next to the car park which is perfect for breakfast in the morning.
I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tourist64314166307
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete and Morag Firns, Owner at 538 Great King Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Thank you Tourist64314166307, we are pleased that we were able to fit you in and that you had a great stay. It was a pleasure to have you all here and we really did appreciate the gorgeous bunch of flowers you gave us, which are still looking and smelling lovely after almost a week on the reception desk. Thanks again.
Pete and Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

It’s our second time stay at 538 Great King Motel. As satisfied as the previous stay. Super convenient location, walking distance to university and town centre. Easy parking. Clean, spacious, and modern room. Sound proof is slightly issue but no big deal considerate it was the busy O week in town. The host Pete is his usual friendly and helpful himself. Lovely to see him again. The only thing can be improved I think is water pressure—a bit too high in the shower, it hurts on your skin.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MinibearX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete and Morag Firns, Owner at 538 Great King Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Thank you MinibearX. We are pleased you had another great stay here. Yes, O-week activities in this part of town can become a bit loud; our double-glazed windows and the inward-facing design of our motel block help alleviate and minimise any disruption for motel guests.
Pete and Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024

The most welcoming hosts ever. The motel is comfortable no matter what room you stay in. Decor is amazing and they are always carrying out maintenance to ensure that customers have the best experience ever. At the risk of making this motel too popular and not being able to find a room when we want one - I can't speak highly enough of it. If we can't stay here we wont come to Dunedin. Only place to stay.

Room tip: Walking distance from all Dunedin down town amenities. Transport easily available - can even catch a bus out to Port Chalmers.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dunedinlover2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete and Morag Firns, Owner at 538 Great King Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Thank you for your lovely comments and for your return visits over the past 5-6 years. We really do enjoy welcoming guests to the motel. It is important to us that each and every guest has a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Also, we are pleased that our maintenance efforts are noticed ... our aim is to maintain a fresh, modern and inviting feel about the motel to help ensure that guests do have a great experience. Thanks again. We look forward to your next visit.
Pete and Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2023

I stayed here for more than a couple of weeks in a double bed room with kitchen, and found this place comfortable, accessible to everywher by walk. The staffs were always nice and ready to help me.

Perhaps I can't forget my stay here.

Room tip: If my parents visit me, I will stay here again.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 창희 이
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete and Morag Firns, Owner at 538 Great King Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Thank you 창희. It was a pleasure to have you here and we are pleased that you are leaving here with fond memories of the beginning of your life in New Zealand. We are happy that we could be part of that and we wish you all the best for the future.
Pete and Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

I was in Dunedin for a family bereavement and I managed to get a room at short notice. The management were VERY accommodating and helpful. My room was awesome, loved it. Clean, tidy everything i needed. I would and will definitely recommend these guys!!!
Thank you for your help and kind words!

Room tip: Use this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete and Morag Firns, Owner at 538 Great King Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Thank you for recommending us Richard. It was a difficult time and we are just pleased we had a nice room for you with everything you needed. We wish you the best.
Pete and Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews