We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$214
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Thefamilytraveller
Whangarei, New Zealand

Great stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Mar 2024via mobile
Not my first stay but the first in a 1 bedroom rather than the usual hotel room. Great sized bedroom with a great sized lounge/diner. Rooms are spotless and staff are excellent. Breakfast was great as always and the team make a great coffee. I’ve stayed in almost every hotel in Dunedin and this is by far the best
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Distinction Dunedin, Guest Services / Front Office at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Mar 2024
Kia Ora @Thefamilytravellernz,

Thank you for writing us a great review, we appreciate your very positive comments & recognizing us as 'by far the best Hotel in Dunedin" ! I will ensure to pass this incredible feedback on to all departments. Our One-Bedroom suites are perfect if you are wanting some extra space in your room & we are happy that you got to experience this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Hotel Dunedin sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Lilyana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $226
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $181
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge/Dining/Kitchen Space
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $212
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $171
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $217
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
501
127
12
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
501
127
12
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office washing machine and dryer great hotel push button one bedroom suite comfortable bed modern hotel great room buffet breakfast small kitchenette good size appointed rooms parcel bathroom octagon nz toaster
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2024

Hotel is old and tired looking. The hallway, lift and carpet look like any motel in the US. Why 5 star? We booked a one-bedroom suite, the room is well thought out with a small kitchen where there's toaster, good fridge, cutleries, nice small cookies and small chocolate for you daily and lots of tea selection. Most importantly, it contains a washing machine and dryer! Very seldom I can find a hotel that has washing machine and dryer. These are important to me as I work out daily. The breakfast room selection is not great. You can't order the eggs you like and they will charge you for cappuccino. But at least it has mushroom and some nice fruits. Gym is a winner - 24hrs. A bit mickey mouse to get there but the gym is very spacious and great for doing your own work out. Only 2 treadmills, they are not too old but worth updating. All the staff are very nice and friendly. Location is not too bad where we wonder about 10min. and can walk to nice resto like Two Chefs and Bacchus. If ever I return to Dunedin, I will stay here.

Room tip: One-bedroom suite is worth it!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SuperShan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Distinction Dunedin, Guest Services / Front Office at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Kia Ora Supershan1,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel & in room facilities including our 24 hour gym and the washer & dryer in the rooms. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a positive experience in our restaurant, I will pass this feedback on to the correct Team. Our location is another guest favourite which we all enjoy - we look forward to welcoming you back to Distinction Hotel Dunedin sometime in the future when you can experience more of the excellent restaurants in close proximity.

Kind regards,
Lilyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

The hotel is clean and friendly
The restaurant manager Moana was very helpful with our vegetarian options and with a smile
Th we bed and pillows were comfortable and the best bit is there is a washer & dryer in the room which is helpful when you are on a long tour

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jet826339
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Distinction Dunedin, Guest Services / Front Office at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Kia Ora Jet826339,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Moana is a very valuable asset to our Team & she will love to hear this feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Distinction hotel Dunedin sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Lilyana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

Located in the former general post office in the centre of the city, this is a great spot.
The hotel’s bar and restaurant is excellent and appears to have a number of local patrons - always a good sign
We had a nice one bedroom suite with a small kitchen area and a great bathroom which included laundry facilities.
The multi-storey car park is right opposite reception so ideal if you are on a motoring tour.
The famous Dunedin Railway Station and the Octagon area are just a few minutes walk.
Friendly staff, great service.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alanpA5492YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Distinction Dunedin, Guest Services / Front Office at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Kia Ora Alan,

Thank you for writing such a positive review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Distinction Hotel. I will pass on positive feedback to our Reception team + Parcels restaurant staff.

We hope to see you again, sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Lilyana / The Distinction Dunedin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Stayed one night in a Superior King room on the 8th floor. The room was very spacious with a generous bathroom and small kitchenette area and laundry facilities. The bed was a super king and extremely comfortable and lots of high quality bedding and towels. Breakfast was a very good buffet of hot and cold choices. All in all a very nice stay and would highly recommend. Possibly deserved 5 stars but marked it down because the coffee at breakfast was self serve from thermos jugs and was not hot (or that nice) and the hot water to make tea with was tepid. Small touches make a big difference …. So close to 5 stars.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Distinction Dunedin, Guest Services / Front Office at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Kia ora Geoff,

Thanks for your review on our property.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our luxury Superior King Room.

I have passed on this feedback to the team at Parcels and we will ensure to have improved, should you visit again.

Thank you,
Paris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

Nice and clean motel. Well located near a lot of places to see. Meals were ok but lacking vegetables. Breakfast was a great variety and plenty of food. Room was clean with a very good shower and almost comfortable bed (just a bit soft for me). Friendly staff.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PaulT913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Distinction Dunedin, Guest Services / Front Office at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Kia Ora Paul,

Thank you for writing a review on our Hotel. As a 4+ star Hotel, we pride ourselves on ensuring all areas of the Hotel are kept to a high standard. We are pleased that you have recognized this & were happy with our facilities. Thank you for choosing to dine in our onsite restaurant Parcels - Your much appreciated feedback will be passed on to the correct departments.

We hope to welcome you back to Distinction Hotel again, in the future.

Kind regards,
Lilyana
Distinction Dunedin Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews