We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$163
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$158
View deal
Trip.com
US$140
View deal
Hotels.comUS$158
PricelineUS$163
eDreamsUS$163
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
461
112
11
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
461
112
11
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office washing machine and dryer great hotel push button one bedroom suite comfortable bed generous size historic building huge bathroom hotel room appointed rooms railway station central location centre of town comfortable stay parcel shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We weren't sure where to stay at first but after going thru hotels list in Expedia website and compared the price, we chose this hotel and we were very pleased about it. This hotel has just open in October 15 so it was reasonably new, in the heart of Dunedin city, close to the shopping street. Staff are friendly and helpful, room is specious with comfortable bed. In room facilities that I've never seen in other hotels, are washing machine and dryer! The price per night is a bit expensive but that is what you pay for. Hotel has a car park with a surcharge per night otherwise you can park on the street which is free during the night. We'll stay there again definitely.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pattamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin618, Guest Relations Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay Pattamc. We are pleased you found us and were able to experience the newest hotel in Dunedin. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Very spacious and nicely designed rooms. Well quipped. Comfortable beds. Good restaurant. Friendly staff.

I spend a lot of my life in hotels and this is a highlight. I would highly recommend it to my friends.

Date of stay: September 2016
1  Thank 470kristoffern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin618, Guest Relations Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you Kristoffer for your review on your recent stay. We get a lot of positive feedback on our Super King beds and we are glad you found them comfortable. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This is a nice quiet room and the hotel is pretty nice. I mainly wanted to post the review for people that can't sleep in the cold - this hotel is NOT a good option for you! The thermostat only allows you to set it from 18 to 23 degrees centigrade - 64.4 to 73.4 fahrenheit.

This is an OK range, but the thermostat/temp sensor is tucked away in a relatively warm corner of the room away from the cold windows, so even if you set the temperature to the max of 23, most of the room is colder (I would estimate 68-70). I called the desk to ask if they could increase the settable range and they said no.

If you are already in this hotel and finding yourself quite cold, here are a couple ridiculous suggestions to warm up your room:

1. Stack tables by the thermostat to make a shelf right under it, and put cold bottles next to the thermostat. That will trick it into turning on the heat past the ungodly temperature of 23C if you are more comfortable living in some kind of 25C hellscape.

2. Run the hot water in the shower, which is incredibly wasteful but will work the fastest.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank davidpD9585PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This recently opened hotel in Dunedin is very flash to say the least. Excellent appointed rooms with quality linen, large beds quite rooms, big screen TV, and high speed wifi. It compares Well price wise with other Hotels in the City. It's a 5 minute walk from the Octagon, but the meals at Parcels are great, without having to go for a walk in the brisk Dunedin winters nights.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank malcolmo492
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin618, Public Relations Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Dear Malcolm O,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities our rooms have to offer. I will be sure to pass your compliment onto Parcels Restaurant, who will appreciate the feedback. We hope that we will be able to host you again in the future should you return to Dunedin. All the best.

Kind Regards,
The Distinction Dunedin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

New hotel so everything is fresh and modern - rooms are very nice. Quite surprised that there is a clothes washer and dryer in the room - excellent feature if needed!

Had breakfast in the hotel restaurant - coffee was very very good and the staff efficient and friendly. Poached Eggs on toast with smoked salmon (like a Eggs B) excellent.

Definitely will stay again while here for work

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sebcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin618, Public Relations Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Hello Sebcat14,

Thank for taking the time to write us a review. I'm greatly pleased to hear that you were impressed with the facilities on offer; we are especially proud to offer a washer and dryer in every single room so it wonderful to know they are appreciated. I'll be sure to pass on your compliments about the coffee to our barista staff who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.
We hope to see you back here at Distinction Dunedin Hotel.

Kind Regards,
The Distinction Dunedin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews