We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Very happy taste buds and very happy belly.”
Review of Plato

Plato
Ranked #10 of 419 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed 30 July 2018

I went there with my boyfriend last Saturday night. We started with the paua patties and fish platter. The staff were more than happy to supply extra plates so we could share. For mains we had the yellow fin tuna steak and the pork and clams, again extra plates were supplied so we could share. It was hard to pick a favourite!! Due to feeling full we shared just had the one dessert which was the cappuccino brulee - mmmmm. A few wines and beers as well and it was perfect. The staff were great and attentive without any hovering over us. At the end of the night a taxi was called for us and we left there extremely happy and satisfied. Have been telling everyone about it!!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We had the most dreadful luncheon Thursdsy 12th July at Plato. I had booked a table for 2 the same day - turns out was completely unnecessary as we were the only 2 in the restaurant and no wonder. Looked tired and very grubby, chairs needed to be replaced etc but we sat ourselves down, ordered a glass of wine and looked at the menu. I had already checked out the menu online and sounded nice but unfortunarely didn't match at all in reality. We both ordered the squid. Was presented in an entirely unappetising way - the large bowls were so worn as if been in/out of dishwashers for years. The squid was tough and oily and the coleslaw was terrible - you could whip up better at home. Would have been nice with a citrusy green fresh salad with lemon. The side of fries was even worse- they were dark brown, wrinkled and limp (not a hint of crispness) and tasted like had been cooked in old rancid oil. The waiter asked how our meal was and we voiced how displeased we were. To be charged $36.50 each was an insult. My friend was from out of town and I felt very embarrassed to take her there. We were going to order dessert but no way!! Dreadful meal - worst Ive had in Dunedin for a long time!

Date of visit: July 2018
5  Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Wonderful food and service.
However Had a chilly afternoon watching hockey so had been looking forward to a warm restaurant. Freezing. Needed to keep all layers on during dinner
Fire out of action currently but please use more heating Never been so cold in my life at a restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank pippaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We were greeted in a vey friendly and professional manner. The waiter was excellent with his description of the menu.
Tried the Birch street IPA which was very enjoyable.
As a table we ordered the fish platter and paua fritters as starters for four and it was top notch.
I ordered the yellow fin tuna which was superb and arrived perfectly cooked.
To finish the evening the chef came to our table to ask for feedback on our meals.
A most excellent dining experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank HugoB2735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

This restaurant serves the most fabulous upmarket food, fine dining and is a quirky venue with all of its art deco bits and pieces.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plato also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Plato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing