We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Best seafood in Dunedin”
Review of Plato

Plato
Ranked #9 of 410 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Plato offers fantastic local seafood, and is a great lunch or dinner venue. The location isn’t the easiest, and isn’t that accessible for tourists (you can walk from the centre, but it but parking in local streets is plentiful. The decor is 70s eclectic throwback, but when I go out for a meal the food and wine is my priority.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank nicholasy669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018

This is a hard one, probably a more a reflection on us, a good restaurant and cant really fault the food, if anything the servings are way to big.

Its not silver service and the decor is a bit hipster/ grunge, not really our thing, but thats us, however they do charge like silver service, $36 for a steak and a further $7.50 for veges makes this a pretty pricey restaurant, 2 courses & 2 drinks for a couple $164 makes this fairly expensive and for us just missed the mark.

Is the food good, yes, would we return, probably not.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesBondrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We love Platos! It is quirky and just great delicious food that is well worth the money!
Lots of choices on the menu and something for everyone but you have to book early!

You wont be disappointed with Platos! Amazing food and service!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kazzaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Ignore these comments about decor, industrial site. It's about the food and the staff, both of which are tremendous. The special sole dish with kiwi salsa was incredible. Keep up the good work!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Departure605459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Such a special place. Junkyard atmosphere. Fabulous seafood and service. Each dish has the chef’s special twist to make it refreshing and unique. The calamari was plentiful and delicious, but certainly unlike any “standard” calamari you might be used to. My salmon was again uniquely presented and perfectly cooked and perfectly cooked salmon is a bit of an art in my experience. My wife’s yellow curry fish was equally interesting and delicious. We will return when we are back in Dunedin next month.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank LarryS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plato also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Plato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing