We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner even for a baby! ”
Review of Plato

Plato
Ranked #9 of 410 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner at Plato. Dishes are delicious and the staff very very kind! Our waitress was the best! We had our baby boy with us so she brought him toys, was nice to him which meant that he was happy and enjoyed the dinner with us.
He loved the seafood chowder and the paua.
Child friendly, nice concept and lovely food.
Thanks Plato!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Marisela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Went for dinner. The building is awesome and the decor quirky and relaxed. Great service, outstanding food. The clams in horseradish cream were outstanding as was the whole baby flounder entree. Two courses and two drinks for two of us just over $150 - great value for the quality. New favourite restaurant in Dunedin.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Second time I have been here. Last time was 2 years ago. Still one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. Entree was mixed dips/ chutneys with bread, very good. This tine I had the smoked steak with jalapeno sauce fir main - fantastic! My wife had Smoked Fish pie - still good. Side dishes if vegies and salad epeere innovative and good enough to eat on their own. Accompanied by a glass of Peregrine Pinot Noir which was a superb wine reasonably priced.

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank jmorton377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here last Saturday and it was amazing.The staff were friendly and attentive but not over bearing.The food was sensational.We started with oysters and then the seafood platter as an entree which was a perfect array of different seafood in both textures and variety.The main I went for was the tuna and it was cooked to perfection which is hard to come by with tina.So all round we had a fantastic evwning and I would highly recommend it.

Date of visit: November 2017
2  Thank alexcarr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

A great place to dine in the evening. Great service, pleasant surroundings and ample food and wine. Great for a special occasion - thoroughly enjoyable.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Muso2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plato also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Plato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing