We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Plato

Plato
Ranked #10 of 419 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We accidentally passed this restaurant and decided to give it a try. Well, we had a very warm welcome and were surprises by the interior. It is such a nice space to sit. But more importantly: the food ! Our very friendly waitress explained the whole menu and gave us a sample of the beers they brew themselves. We had a fishplatter as entree and the fish coulndt have been more fresh and tasty. Than I had the seafood chowder and my husband had the fishcurry, both were DELICIOUS! This is food that really makes you happy ! So definitely, I would recommend this place !

Date of visit: November 2016
3  Thank prinsesleia36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 166 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We had a good dinner at Plato - it comes with high praise - my dinner was slightly over powered by the sauce it was served in. But I would still recommend the place. Great to discover there beer -awesome Pilsner.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank 548glens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Pleasant food, good service. Did not mind the decor, there was plenty to look at. Quite quirky. Glad we booked .

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JaneB4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Fine dining prices and fine food, our waiter even had a french accent, unfortunately i think the decor and the whole atmosphere in the restaurant doesnt match with the menu.
Could've been better.

Date of visit: October 2016
2  Thank tripleb2fg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

A group of 10 of us were visiting from BOP for a sports event in Dunedin. Earlier in the day the owner of the Portobello Hotel recommended Plato to our group for dinner. We're glad he did! A great variety of fresh seafood meals with the no one in our group disappointed at all. To top the night off they shouted us a round of Limoncello and when the taxis couldn't fit us all in one of the staff members kindly dropped a few of us back at the hotel...if that's not service I don't know what is!!
Thanks for a great night we all highly recommend Plato!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WBE2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plato also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Plato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing