We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Plato

Plato
Ranked #9 of 410 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: .
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Recently went to Plato for Dinner with my wife. Had an absolutely fabulous meal and for those who like plenty the meal was quite large. My wife being Thai loves seafood and so had Local Otago Clams for her main.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Winny303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 162 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2016

Came here as a group of eight for an informal work do during a conference - has quiet a different décor than you would expect of a restaurant but in a nice way - I liked the ambience it gave.

Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Meal portions are very generous - most of us had fish as there was a good selection of varieties and different ways that it could be cooked. Everyone enjoyed there food.

I had the crispy squid for an entrée that was tender with a nice crispy flavorsome coating. My mains was an excellent Tuna Steak cooked to perfection. Dessert was an Apple and Rhubarb Tart that good too.

Overall an excellent night out - well worth visiting.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sebcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Great meal always reliable and lots if menu choices and fantastic wine list , good parking and staff friendly and attentive

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank gymielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Despite its formidable reputation I have yet to receive an exceptional meal at Plato. At best the food is overpriced and pretty average and whilst the eclectic environment might attract some people, it does the opposite to me. Generally, because of my previous experiences, it is not a place I would choose to eat at however I was recently invited to attend a business dinner there. On this occasion I was unfortunate to be served very undercooked fish, which for a restaurant that 'sells' itself on its seafood dishes has to be a bit of a no go area .... The service was very good although on previous visits it has rarely been so good. All in all I think 3 stars is pretty generous.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Egam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We visited after viewing rating on Trip Advisor, so pleased we did. We were with business people so wanted a good impression. They had not visited this restaurant before so we were hoping for a good meal and it certainly hit all the right boxes. The location was good, with plenty of parking, the place quirky but that added to the occasion. The staff were experienced and knowledgeable The menu was varied to suit different tastes. We will be back there next time in Dunedin.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plato also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Plato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing