We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$150
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Caitlin
Favourite Motel!!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2022
I came down from Christchurch to visit family and was extremely pleased with my stay at Alhambra Oaks. A very positive experience overall thanks to the lovely Carolyn, who is always available for anything needed. The customer service was very good and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean and tidy, much better than other motels I’ve stayed at in Dunedin. The location of the motel is also perfect as it is nearby to practically everything in the city. Plenty of parking in the car park. Also have a night and day within walking distance 😁Don’t have a bad word to say!! Will definitely be coming back here again! Highly recommend for anyone looking to stay in Dunedin.
Date of stay: April 2022
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$250
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$180
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel
$214
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $214
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$153
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
8.9 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Tripadvisor
$167
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
Tripadvisor
$173
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
$170
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
14.7 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free parking
Executive Studio
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $241
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $226
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $68
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
149
46
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
149
46
11
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room was clean plenty of parking within walking distance visiting dunedin car park carolyn university motel unit stadium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2022

He had a wonderfull time staying here while visiting Dunedin. Our room was fantastic, service excellent and the visit from the lovely cat in the office made our day. We will certainly be staying here next time we travel south again. Thanks

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Murray, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2022

Oh thanks so much Alex - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I'm so glad you loved our office cat Evie. See you next time you travel to Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2022

Amazing location in Dunedin, amazing rooms and the friendliest staff! Will definitely stay here again! The owner was so informed about places we could visit and so welcoming! 10/10 recommend this motel!

Room tip: The larger studios have more room and a nice sitting area too!
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lauramareehay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Murray, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2022

Thanks Laura - so happy that you loved our staff and amazing rooms - see you again soon I hope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2022

Was lucky enough to stay at the Alhambra Oaks. We're picky and have young children and high standards of cleanliness. This didn't disappoint. We were greeted by the owner, who was super friendly and the kids loved her. Was showed our room which was spacious and very clean. The location is great- right by the university and the centre of town, but still quiet enough at night. There's a field across the road which the children loved, and lots of dining options. You don't even need a car. Whatever we needed, the owner was happy enough to supply for us. We've been to lots of places around the country and this motel felt like we were staying with family it was so great!

Room tip: Higher rooms are great
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annaetlalune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Murray, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2022

Oh thanks so much for the amazing comments Anna - I am so glad you loved out clean and spacious rooms. Our location is certainly a drawcard so close to the University, Forsyth Barr Stadium and so many great eating places. I hope to see you and the family back another time soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021

The property was well located. Walkable to town and nearby restaurants etc.The owner was lovely and gave our family an extremely well-equipped comfortable room. Very spacious. The rooms are modern, clean and have a great layout.

Date of stay: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank michellegreenw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Murray, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2021

Hi Michelle
Thanks so much for the fantastic comments - I'm so glad you loved your stay with us - see you again soon I hope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021

This motel has wonderful clean rooms and everything is so well maintained. We stay quite often and the office service is lovely, welcoming and friendly. So helpful in all situations. Area is quiet and relaxing with plenty of space to park.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank roseV8302RX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn Murray, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Thanks so much for the amazing comments - It really is fantastic that you love our motel and facilities - see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews