We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$156
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kim M
Sydney, Australia

Great Place to Stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2020
We stayed 3 nights in an upstairs family unit and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The location is fantastic, only 15min walk into the city with supermarkets and restaurants nearby.
Plenty of free onsite parking and also a guest laundry for a small fee.
Carolyn is very friendly and helpful and goes out of her way to make you feel at home.
Housekeeping is done every day and the rooms are spotless ... Thankyou.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Thanks so much Kim I am loving your amazing positive comments - I agree we have an amazing location and I hope to see you back again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$178
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$185
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$235
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$181
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $181
0.3 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$140
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free parking
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
8.9 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
Tripadvisor
$157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
149
46
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
149
46
11
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room was clean plenty of parking within walking distance visiting dunedin car park carolyn university motel unit stadium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2020

A great little motel. Modern, clean and quiet. Really comfy beds and lovely owner. It's right in the heart of Dunedin but you don't hear the students partying from here (not a lot of Motels can boast that! We're coming back in 6 weeks!

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leighp687
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Fantastic comments - thanks so much Leigh - we do hear the odd student when O week is in full swing but you are right we are not near the student flats but the University is what makes Dunedin so special and vibrant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020 via mobile

Easy walk to the Stadium! Easy flat walk to the cdb. Rooms on the smaller size but okay size bathroom. Bathroom has a non noise cancelling sliding door :) Great Shower pressure. Older style power key that has to be put into a socket to get power which is a bit annoying to carry around with you. Full Sky Tv selection which is great. Fridge in the room with tea and coffee etc. No Air Con in the room. Super friendly staff made us feel very welcome. One of the best in North Dunedin.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DougieQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Thanks so much for all the amazing comments I really do appreciate the feedback - yes we are so proud of our fantastic location - I hope to see you again for another concert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

This is a lovely motel that I chose for its location close to the Otago campus. The rooms and furniture are clean and tidy and the owners are friendly and helpful. It's within short walking distance to bars, cafes and other eateries and not much farther to the Octagon (15 minutes). The traffic starts early, but isn't too noisy because of the speed limit on Great King Street.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank casacollins26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Manager at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thanks a lot of the amazing comments - I appreciate your review and you made some great points about our excellent location here on Great King Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

The lodge is conveniently located in a walking distance to all major attractions, Otago university and restaurants. The receptionist was very friendly and courteous. Our room was small but tidy and spotless. The motel looks great from outside. The ground floor room itself was super clean but very small and rather dark. The internet signal was quite weak. It was a good choice for one night stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Manager at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Love your comments - thanks very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Very central location and across the road from a park so very quiet. Clean and spacious rooms. Very short walk to a cafe that does great coffee and food. Seemed to suit families and visiting tourists.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karenanded2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Yes we are close to lots of restaurants and cafes - I am so please you loved your stay with us and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews