We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$157
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
casacollins26
Christchurch, New Zealand

Convenient location close to campus

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Feb 2020
This is a lovely motel that I chose for its location close to the Otago campus. The rooms and furniture are clean and tidy and the owners are friendly and helpful. It's within short walking distance to bars, cafes and other eateries and not much farther to the Octagon (15 minutes). The traffic starts early, but isn't too noisy because of the speed limit on Great King Street.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Manager at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Thanks a lot of the amazing comments - I appreciate your review and you made some great points about our excellent location here on Great King Street.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$172
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$184
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$178
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$142
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free parking
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Dunedin
Tripadvisor
$164
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
$159
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
8.9 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$211
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $193
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
149
46
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
149
46
11
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room was clean plenty of parking within walking distance visiting dunedin car park carolyn university motel unit stadium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2020

The lodge is conveniently located in a walking distance to all major attractions, Otago university and restaurants. The receptionist was very friendly and courteous. Our room was small but tidy and spotless. The motel looks great from outside. The ground floor room itself was super clean but very small and rather dark. The internet signal was quite weak. It was a good choice for one night stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Manager at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Love your comments - thanks very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Very central location and across the road from a park so very quiet. Clean and spacious rooms. Very short walk to a cafe that does great coffee and food. Seemed to suit families and visiting tourists.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karenanded2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Yes we are close to lots of restaurants and cafes - I am so please you loved your stay with us and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020 via mobile

I stayed while attending uni summer school. Very close and handy to everything. My studio had everything I needed for a few days. Nice owners and very quiet place to stay. Have rebooked for next time.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank orlena2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

That is so great to hear - love your review and looking forward to seeing you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

Appreciated the large family unit, great kutchen and bathroom with spa. Friendly and helpful host. 20min walk to city centre and train and just a few minutes to amazing museum. Is on main highway out of town but road noise was minimal. Very modern.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2020

Thanks so much Kylie - you said it all - love all your comments and I appreciate the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020

The motor lodge is quite well located in a quiet part of Dunedin near Otago University. Easy walk into Dunedin, the Botanical gardens, and supermarket. Large room, with a good heater! (a cold few days), a decent kitchenette and comfortable bed). Everything was clean and well maintained. Caroline is very welcoming and friendly, managing the Motel to a high standard of service. Very helpful in advising on places to eat and tour options and nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyed the stay and would do so again because of ther location, quality of service and value for money. Well done caroline and thank you.

Room tip: All rooms face into the court yard. Stayed in a ground floor room which was quiet .
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Wow thanks so much Alan I do appreciate the positive feedback - thank you so much for all the great comments and I look forward to a return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews