We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
orlena2018
Napier, New Zealand

Nice, tidy, clean and quiet

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Jan 2020via mobile
I stayed while attending uni summer school. Very close and handy to everything. My studio had everything I needed for a few days. Nice owners and very quiet place to stay. Have rebooked for next time.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 19 Jan 2020
That is so great to hear - love your review and looking forward to seeing you next time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$215
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
8.9 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin Leisure Lodge Main Entrance Daytime SG
$199
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $446
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Hotel
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Kitchen Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $284
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Dunedin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
149
46
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
149
46
11
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room was clean plenty of parking within walking distance visiting dunedin car park carolyn university motel unit stadium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2020

Appreciated the large family unit, great kutchen and bathroom with spa. Friendly and helpful host. 20min walk to city centre and train and just a few minutes to amazing museum. Is on main highway out of town but road noise was minimal. Very modern.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2020

Thanks so much Kylie - you said it all - love all your comments and I appreciate the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2020

The motor lodge is quite well located in a quiet part of Dunedin near Otago University. Easy walk into Dunedin, the Botanical gardens, and supermarket. Large room, with a good heater! (a cold few days), a decent kitchenette and comfortable bed). Everything was clean and well maintained. Caroline is very welcoming and friendly, managing the Motel to a high standard of service. Very helpful in advising on places to eat and tour options and nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyed the stay and would do so again because of ther location, quality of service and value for money. Well done caroline and thank you.

Room tip: All rooms face into the court yard. Stayed in a ground floor room which was quiet .
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Wow thanks so much Alan I do appreciate the positive feedback - thank you so much for all the great comments and I look forward to a return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

This is the second time we have stayed here and will definitely stay again. Rooms are set up well and beds are super comfy. You receive exceptional personal service. Definitely recommend staying here!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank starbelle2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Oh thanks so much - I am loving your comments and I look forward to seeing you for a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019

After being emergency flown to hospital, my friend and I rang around to find a hotel to stay for the night in Dunedin. Alhambra was the only one who answered in a timely manner, and was able to make the time and exception for us to stay.

The woman running the place not only stayed past the closing time to make sure we were able to get there safely and check in (after being discharged from hospital), but she then put the heater on for us before we arrived to make sure our room was warm. She even went to get a second, external heater for us as she was aware the other may not have made it warm enough in time!!!

She knew we were on a long journey already, and we were exhausted, and even the simplest of gestures she did made a world of difference. Upon arriving, she then walked us to our now heated room (thank you!) and asked if we needed anything else. Post-hospital us were starving and nauseous, and asked if we could please (in true Aussie fashion) have some vegemite and toast? Without a second of hesitation, she rushed out and brought back bread, butter and toast.

The room was fantastic with great value for money - including unlimited wifi, two heaters, insanely good hot chocolate, milk, SkyTV, two beds, couches, tables and a dining table. It was also stocked with shampoo and more in the bathroom! It was very well kempt.

The next day when we were leaving, she wished us the best of luck and told us she hopes we get better soon.

I would return here in an absolute heartbeat because she made a fairly stressful, crap and unplanned time so much easier to deal with.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aibreinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Well thank you so very much - that is the most amazing review I have ever read!! It makes the world of difference when people appreciate the extra things you do and then let you know ..... All the very best to you both.
Once again thanks so much for the fantastic review it has really made my day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2019

A warm welcome from Caroline, who agreed to change our room at no extra charge to a larger studio. She was also very helpful in terms if recommending things to do and see around Dunedin. It is conveniently located for breakfast outlets and there is a NW supermarket a brisk 15 mins walk away.

Room tip: Ask for a studio with a bath, if that is your preference.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PensionerPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Your-hosts_Alhambra, Owner at Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2019

Thanks Peter I really appreciate the great feedback from you - I was happy to upgrade you and your wife as I'm always wanting to keep my guests happy!! I hope to see you another time and enjoy the rest of your travels
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews