We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ian S
Old Beach, Australia

Absolutely Top Class.

Review of Amross Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2024
We went here in March 2024, even though Tripadvisor keeps showing the date as February. This is the 3rd time I have had to do this Review.
We had 3 great nights here. Our hosts Barry and Donna were fantastic. Barry welcomed us when we arrived and gave us lots of advice on where to eat and what to see while we were in Dunedin. Lone Star Restaurant is a short walk away and a Thai restaurant, Budda Stix, is right next door. Our room was marvellous with plenty of power points, a pantry for crockery and TWO suitcase stands. It was quite roomy. Although it was on the second level, Barry carried both our suitcase up for us and showed us into the room. We will definitely stay here again should we return to Dunedin.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this review
Responded 4 Apr 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We really do appreciate it, take care :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$186
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $186
0.1 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $230
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Hotels.com
    $230
0.8 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $175
0.1 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $170
  • Priceline
    $199
1.4 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Dunedin Leisure Lodge Main Entrance Daytime SG
Booking.com
$179
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.8 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $146
  • Expedia.com
    $159
0.1 km from Amross Motel
Free parking
Dunedin
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $186
  • Agoda.com
    $175
  • Priceline
    $215
1.1 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
$157
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $144
  • Priceline
    $164
9.1 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $259
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Priceline
    $235
1.9 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$239
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Agoda.com
    $198
  • Expedia.com
    $209
1.8 km from Amross Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
414
71
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
414
71
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free netflix large tv the main street parking on site the kitchen handy location great stay bed was very comfortable within walking distance sky tv place to stay studio unit spa bath comfortable stay wonderful hosts an easy walk new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Very good place to stay - clean, well maintained property and spacious room with a well equipped kitchenette, reasonably priced; comfortable and quiet.
The owner checked us in, very friendly and informative, and you feel that they care about their guests.
There was construction on the next-door property when we were there (Feb 2024), but this did not impact our stay - all quiet overnight.
We only stayed one night, but would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henning R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Thank you :) Really appreciate your review, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

From the moment we checked in, we felt at home. The owner was very friendly and helpful and gave us tips on what to do in Dunedin. Our room was spacious, modern and spotless. It had our own free washing machine/dryer in the room which was great cause we had accumulated some dirty clothes. The bed was comfy and the bathroom spacious with liquid soap/ shampoo and plenty to nice fresh towels. The shower was amazing and I was tempted to stay in it too long. We had a large TV with sky sport and Netflix. What more could you want. We had travelled the length and breadth of NZ over the past weeks and I can honestly say, this was the best motel we had stayed inn.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Thank you Mike for taking the time to write this review for us. We really appreciate it, take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

During our family road trip across the New Zealand's South Island, my family and I had the pleasure of booking a one-night stay at the Amross Motel. With anticipation and excitement, we looked forward to a comfortable and relaxing evening at this establishment, which came highly recommended through numerous glowing online reviews.
Upon our arrival, we were greeted warmly and swiftly checked into two rooms that perfectly suited our needs. The accommodations appeared clean, well-appointed, and inviting, promising a pleasant stay. Throughout our brief time there, we found the rooms to be satisfactory, providing us with the respite we sought after a day of exploring Dunedin.
However, what transpired after our departure cast a shadow over our otherwise enjoyable experience. A few hours following our check-out, I was startled to receive an email from the motel management, alleging that we had caused damage to their stainless steel countertop. According to their claim, the damage was attributed to excessive heat from the stove, resulting in a charge of NZ$500 to cover the copay of their insurances.
Needless to say, this accusation caught us completely off guard and left us bewildered. We were adamant in our assertion that we had left the rooms in impeccable condition, taking care to ensure that all appliances, including the stove, were turned off before our departure. The notion that we could have caused such damage seemed inconceivable and was met with genuine disbelief on our part.
Regrettably, this unexpected turn of events plunged us into a state of distress and frustration, casting a pall over the remainder of our journey. As we continued our travels across the South Island, the unresolved issue with the motel weighed heavily on my mind, detracting from the enjoyment of our adventure.
Determined to address the situation and clear our name of any wrongdoing, I disputed the unauthorized charge with my credit card company.
Reflecting on this experience, I couldn't help but feel disillusioned by the disparity between the overwhelmingly positive reviews that had initially led us to choose the Amross Motel and the disappointing reality of our encounter. While the accommodations themselves may have met our expectations, the distressing aftermath of the unfounded damage claim served as a stark reminder of the unpredictability that can accompany even the most meticulously planned travels.
In sharing this account, I hope to provide fellow travelers with a candid glimpse into our experience and caution against placing undue reliance on online reviews alone. While they may offer valuable insights, they cannot always anticipate or prevent the unforeseen challenges that may arise during one's journey.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yelin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Here you go again, harassing our business on social media for your guilt.
A one star review is worthy of a reply. There are always two sides to every story, it is now time to tell mine. Our housekeepers, my husband and myself go to extraordinary lengths to provide the best accommodation we can for our guests. Our rooms are always checked before and after each guest by the three of us to see that cleanliness and maintenance is met.
As you are aware we walk all our guests to their rooms to see that their requirements are met and are happy with the accommodation that they have been provided with.
When a booking is made a confirmation letter is sent to you, as you had two rooms, you received two of these letters. On this confirmation it clearly states “Please respect all of our facilities and notify us of any damage. Certain fees may be charged to your credit card in the event of breakages, damage or excessive cleaning of the kitchen.

We welcome the use of the kitchens in the units and don’t feel we need to check the units while our guests are still here to get a pass to leave! Damage/accidents happen and we are very understanding people who always sort a practical solution and see the matter is resolved amicably.

On check out that morning you never entered your elderly family’s room (cameras) so you never saw the room or damage yourself. However three of us did enter the room that morning and the burnt pot was still on the bench with dishes still to be washed, contrary to what you were told.


Photo evidence was provided to you that morning via email and you were informed a $500 charge will be made from you credit card to pay for the insurance excess.

The heavy duty Kinox pot was burnt so bad it could not be salvaged (photos provided to you) along with the stainless steel bench top that had a permanent ripple in it and brown scorch marks, which is damn hot to cause that kind of damage!

Couple of concerns I have is perhaps elderly members of the family shouldn’t be left alone to cook, a hazard to themselves and others, particularly if they cannot remember they have burnt something.

A little honesty goes a long way, things do happen. You have received your $500 back because you disputed and denied the damage. I am left with a bill, the inconvenience of maintenance, loss of revenue to shut the room for repair and in the meantime disruption to guests using the sub-standard bench. Just remember photos don’t lie, happy to upload to your review if you wish.

The rest of your holiday was ruined, guilt does that, but our business was ruined too. You do have to live with your dishonesty for now, however small claims disputes can actually settle the real truth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024

Donna and Barry were helpful and friendly. The Amross is an ideal place to stay. Has free off street parking. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Location is an easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Would highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thetuffies2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Really appreciate your review, thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024

We stayed here on our holiday around South island. It was one of the best motels we stayed in. Donna and Barry, the couple on site, were absolutely lovely, really helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable and the toiletries in the bathroom were also excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this motel.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JanetSmith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Really appreciate the review Janet, thank you, take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews