We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
$242
Fully refundable before Wed, 13 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
407
71
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
407
71
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free netflix large tv the main street parking on site the kitchen handy location great stay bed was very comfortable within walking distance sky tv place to stay studio unit spa bath comfortable stay wonderful hosts an easy walk new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

We were part of a multi room booking as support staff for a major event. We could not have asked for better accomodation. Personally I was there for around three weeks. The owners are special people who are there to make sure you are looked after, very special people who are amazing hosts. If visiting Dunedin this is the only place to stay ( I have stayed at all the major hotels in Dunedin).
It's a short walk to a huge variety of restaurants and bars so an ideal location.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank uncleremus2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2023

The pleasure was ours to have the group stay, an amazing group of people :) Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2023 via mobile

August 2023 - Two night stay in the Amross Motel Dunedin. Perfect! Exceeded expectations. Super clean, everything worked, evident attention to detail in amenities and self catering gear. Close enough to central Dunedin to explore, away enough to be quiet. Several minute drive or Uber to ‘Octagon’. Hosts were very friendly and gave us great local information to efficiently plan our short but busy stay. I cannot say enough appreciation to the hosts for providing a comfortable and clean lodging for their guests! Not a luxury hotel - great smaller motel with a perfect room. Good Job!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AzRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2023

Lovely to meet you both :) Thank you for the wonderful review, we really appreciate it, take care Regards Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

Amross would have to be one of the best places we have ever stayed. The room was so clean, tidy, spacious with everything that we needed. I have never seen a bed made so beautifully!
We were part of a larger work group and everyone was so happy with their accomodation.
Barry and Donna (hosts) are fantastic people who you would, and did, go above and beyond to help out. Nothing was a problem.
Plenty of parking, good laundry facilities, close to plenty of good food places etc.
Highly recommended and will definitely return.

Room tip: Good parking, very close to cafes, bars restaurants etc Bus stop right outside. Very helpful hosts who are available when you need
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Voyage21255586643
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2023

Wow, thank you for the awesome review. :) What an amazing team of people we were fortunate enough to have, to stay with us. You all made our job so easy and from the bottom of our hearts THANK YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

Parked up at this motel for 2 weeks whilst having to work in dunnerz. It turned out to be one of the best motels Iv used. Barry and Donna the hosts were xlnt nothing was a prob outstanding comfortable rooms awesome service if you were to pick then pick this place in my view you won't be disappointed bloody good show team

Room tip: Has off street parking walking distance to center of town and eateries etc in both directions and an actual 24/7 night and day convenience shop over the road that is 24/7
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Firefightermedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2023

The pleasure was ours, we truly couldn't have asked for a better group to stay at Amross. Thank you so much for the excellent review, we really appreciate it :) Barry & Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2023 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed recently in May at this motel.

Because my daughter has a sleep apnoea machine we needed two bedrooms.

Barry kindly gave us a unit upstairs which had a large possibly king size bed in one room and, in the lounge room, there was a single bed. Both beds were very comfortable and we slept well. Nice and quiet, no traffic noise.

The bathroom with huge, the water was hot, towels were supplied every day. The unit was refreshed daily. New tea towels, detergent, shampoo. Spotlessly clean unit, had Netflix available as well as Sky TV.

You could use the washing machine and dryer for four dollars, but we didn’t bother with that. I read somewhere that two of the units have washing machines in them.

The kitchen had recently been refitted, microwave, hot plates, eating area of table and chairs.

Handy location to stay in Dunedin, close to everything, warm and comfortable, parking on site.

Barry and Donna went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable for which we are thankful and acknowledge their friendliness and advice.

Would definitely recommend,

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Donna Donaldson, Owner at Amross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2023

Thank you Elaine :) Your review is amazing, we really appreciate the time you taken to write it for us, Barry & Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews