We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andrew M
Ashford, United Kingdom

Above and beyond

Review of 97 Motel Moray
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2022via mobile
We were very happy with the room clean and comfortable great shower. We had only planned staying one night HOWEVER when our plans unexpectedly had to change they went above and beyond anything we could have expected to help us out, Thank you for your kindness and consideration guys.
Date of stay: November 2022
Room Tip: Stay here!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$230
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $231
  • Algotels
    $194
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$207
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $182
  • Priceline
1.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
$187
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $187
  • Agoda.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $187
0.6 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $189
0.2 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Agoda.com
    $160
  • Priceline
0.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $143
  • Hotels.com
    $126
  • Priceline
8.0 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • TiCATi.com
    $249
  • Expedia.com
    $289
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    $164
  • Agoda.com
    $155
  • Hotels.com
    $163
1.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Kitchen Room
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
    $188
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $160
9.8 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
51
86
30
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
86
30
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night city centre continental breakfast great shower rooms are spacious octagon motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2022

This was our fourth visit to Dunedin and each time we stay at 97 Moray.

In truth ithe motel is becoming somewhat dated but the rooms are spacious and comfortable. It was good to see that our bathroom had been modernised.

Whilst it is not your modern complex , it is a very pleasant place to stay, literally three minutes walk from the Octagon with all its restaurants and cafes. i doubt we could get anything better for our buck!

The staff are always so very helpful and whilst their continental breakfast was not available because of Covid, they still offered to serve it in our room. Its a perfectly adequate breakfast and all for $6 !

We will continue staying at 97 Moray on all future visits to Dunedin.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2020

We loved our 2 nights here, but given the huge windows in the lounge and bedroom, can imagine the heat in summer would be pretty fierce. Having said that, would stay again - but not in summer. Bathroom spacious with a ledge for our toiletries. Bed very comfortable (good support)

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

We arrived just as the boss was going home. He smiled, welcomed us in, gave us a great room and lots of info.
The motel is in the absolute centre of the city...walking distance to everything. The rooms are very clean with plenty of space. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Dunedin.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Grannyrae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2020

We stayed at this motel 5 years ago on a previous visit to Dunedin so had no hesitation staying a further two nights this month.
The motel is a two minute walk from the Octagon which is great as we didn't have a car with us.In truth the motel is dated but the room we had was large, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and we had a great ensuite- it was not luxurious but it was all that we needed or wanted.
The $6 brekkie is basic but again, it suited us fine.We also took advantage ( after 5 days on the Otago Rail Trail) of the cheap and comprehensive laundry facilities that the motel offers.
The staff are extremely helpful and when the booked shuttle (Kiwi Shuttles) didn't turn up at the agreed time to take us to the airport, the receptionist was brilliant and arranged a taxi for us even though they are in short supply in Dunedin on a Sunday morning.
We will stay here every time we visit Dunedin

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020

We have stayed here multiple times over the past few years. (Even lived here when it was the YWCA 40 years ago)
The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to assist you. The rooms are very clean and tidy and some even have a spa bath. The best room is the one on the top floor with the seperate bedroom, costs a little more but well worth the extra. Centrally located just 1 street away from the Octagon and very reasonably priced.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews