We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rae H

Fabulous and Clise to Everything

Review of 97 Motel Moray
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Nov 2020via mobile
We arrived just as the boss was going home. He smiled, welcomed us in, gave us a great room and lots of info.
The motel is in the absolute centre of the city...walking distance to everything. The rooms are very clean with plenty of space. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Dunedin.
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Official Hotel
    $189
0.2 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Kitchen Room
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Other Hotel Services/Amenities
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $130
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
51
86
30
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
86
30
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night city centre continental breakfast great shower rooms are spacious octagon motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2020

We stayed at this motel 5 years ago on a previous visit to Dunedin so had no hesitation staying a further two nights this month.
The motel is a two minute walk from the Octagon which is great as we didn't have a car with us.In truth the motel is dated but the room we had was large, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and we had a great ensuite- it was not luxurious but it was all that we needed or wanted.
The $6 brekkie is basic but again, it suited us fine.We also took advantage ( after 5 days on the Otago Rail Trail) of the cheap and comprehensive laundry facilities that the motel offers.
The staff are extremely helpful and when the booked shuttle (Kiwi Shuttles) didn't turn up at the agreed time to take us to the airport, the receptionist was brilliant and arranged a taxi for us even though they are in short supply in Dunedin on a Sunday morning.
We will stay here every time we visit Dunedin

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020

We have stayed here multiple times over the past few years. (Even lived here when it was the YWCA 40 years ago)
The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to assist you. The rooms are very clean and tidy and some even have a spa bath. The best room is the one on the top floor with the seperate bedroom, costs a little more but well worth the extra. Centrally located just 1 street away from the Octagon and very reasonably priced.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile

We had a very pleasant welcome here by Tony( I think). The room was fantastic and the ensuite was huge. Everything was clean. We had everything we needed and it was in walking distance of everything. We were even allowed to leave the car there for a couple of hours in the morning.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Treganhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2020

This may not be a five-star Motel, but it does have features which makes it outstanding and worth its rating.
Reception on arrival was very friendly and welcoming, and despite being very early, was able to check into the room immediately.
Room was large and roomy containing a good Guest Compendium, comfortable Queen size bed, two leather recliner chairs in front of a television set as well as a table and chairs.
Décor was a little dated but still tasteful. However, the Motel appears to be undergoing refurbishment, so it can only get better.
Has a large roomy bathroom with an excellent shower and an absolutely superb bath.
Excellent unlimited free Wi-Fi access.
Is excellently located, right in the centre of the city; has great off-street parking and is real value for money. All currently making it now my most preferred place to stay when in Dunedin.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

It's nothing fancy but at just five minutes' walk from the heart of Dunedin, this motel is well located and good value. Lots of free car parking and clean rooms, albeit with decor that's a little dated. The lobby feels like something from the old Soviet Union but don't let that put you off; the rooms themselves are fine. A very basic breakfast can be purchased for a few dollars but you'd be better walking the short distance to the cafés on the Octagon for a proper meal. In the evening, after dinner and drinks, you'll be home in a jiffy. Recommended for a hassle-free stay in Dunedin.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CreditcardandID
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews