We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FyingKiwi
Christchurch, New Zealand

Basic Excellence

Review of 97 Motel Moray
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jan 2020
This may not be a five-star Motel, but it does have features which makes it outstanding and worth its rating.
Reception on arrival was very friendly and welcoming, and despite being very early, was able to check into the room immediately.
Room was large and roomy containing a good Guest Compendium, comfortable Queen size bed, two leather recliner chairs in front of a television set as well as a table and chairs.
Décor was a little dated but still tasteful. However, the Motel appears to be undergoing refurbishment, so it can only get better.
Has a large roomy bathroom with an excellent shower and an absolutely superb bath.
Excellent unlimited free Wi-Fi access.
Is excellently located, right in the centre of the city; has great off-street parking and is real value for money. All currently making it now my most preferred place to stay when in Dunedin.
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$208
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
$188
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
    $189
0.2 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
$159
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
9.8 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
$142
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.0 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $174
1.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Priceline
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
  • Algotels
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
51
86
30
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
86
30
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night city centre continental breakfast great shower rooms are spacious octagon motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2020 via mobile

It's nothing fancy but at just five minutes' walk from the heart of Dunedin, this motel is well located and good value. Lots of free car parking and clean rooms, albeit with decor that's a little dated. The lobby feels like something from the old Soviet Union but don't let that put you off; the rooms themselves are fine. A very basic breakfast can be purchased for a few dollars but you'd be better walking the short distance to the cafés on the Octagon for a proper meal. In the evening, after dinner and drinks, you'll be home in a jiffy. Recommended for a hassle-free stay in Dunedin.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CreditcardandID
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2019

It was an OK place for us just to sleep one night before the 9 o'clock morning flight from Dunedin to Auckland. I didn't know that AVIS has a key drop box in the airport and initially made this reservation because AVIS has an office in this motel. Although I changed rental car return to Dunedin airport, we decided to keep this reservation. Room was clean, bed was OK, and took me only 25 minutes on Sunday morning to get to the airport.
BE AWARE:
Reception Hours:
Monday – Friday 7:00am – 10:00pm
Saturday, Sunday & Public holidays 8:00am – 8:00pm

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ABTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

Good clean basic accommodation sums it up. Nothing fancy but effective. Well located midcity with parking available. Beds comfortable but I got twin singles which was not ideal. Shower was a fitness shower. Pressure low and chase the water drops!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank graemem548
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2019

clean room with basic essentials although the windows could have been more user-friendly with some nets up for privacy
decor old and very dated but all you need
staff friendly and helpful
free wifi not worth mentioning - but i'd stay again
very handy position in town

Room tip: i was on the south side - no view noisey teenage parties outside
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Room met the needs and was ok value, booked over the New Year period. The decor is a little dated and the breakfast very basic but it is in a great location, with suitable free parking. I would stay again at the right price.

Room tip: Free parking
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NFHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews