We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jim K
Rangiora, New Zealand

Back to the Future

Review of 97 Motel Moray
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2019via mobile
I decided to stay here due to the hotel I usually stay at being booked out.

Though the location is good and to be honest the bed was decent and I had a good sleep. The overall impression is dated.

The shower’s water pressure was ok but, that’s about the end of any redeeming features.

My phone didn’t charge as I didn’t notice I needed to turn the power on the plug - my fault...

What was the most damning part of my stay was the breakfast.

What was on offer was a shocker- either don’t offer breakfast, or do it properly and charge accordingly.

Eg. putting out a frozen loaf to make toast from isn’t setting a good example- no need to say anymore.

Consequently I won’t return.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Purchie, Manager at 97 Motel Moray, responded to this review
Responded 23 Jul 2019
Hi Jim K
Thank you for your feedback. Very pleased to hear you had a good night’s sleep at our Motel. Sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast. We charge only $6.00 for a self-serve continental breakfast consisting of toast, 4 cereals, sliced peaches, tea and coffee in our breakfast room. For those that want more there are at least a dozen cafés within 5 minutes walk.

Regards

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$214
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $214
1.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Kitchen Room
$200
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$161
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $161
1.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
$158
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $158
9.8 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
$143
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $143
8.0 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $224
  • Algotels
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $196
  • Algotels
0.5 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Expedia.com
    $189
0.2 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Hotel
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $106
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Algotels
0.4 km from 97 Motel Moray
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
51
86
30
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
86
30
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night city centre continental breakfast great shower rooms are spacious octagon motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

Chose to stay here while my father was in hospital they could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Called us prior to check the rooms we had booked were right,and held rooms in case we needed to stay longer. Very convenient location with easy parking comfortable clean rooms staff all friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to others and would definitely stay there again very satisfied customers.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank barackel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2019

good location,near octogan etc,older place good value,will be back,have been there before,easy parking,full cooking facilities,easy check in and out very helpful staff,im rambling now as didn't realize a novel was needed to review

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowbell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2019

We had a large room overlooking the garden. It had all the facilities we needed - fridge, toaster, kettle etc., good sized bathroom, kingsize bed, 2 chairs and wifi. The motel is very central (3 mins walk from the Octagon), has a good-sized carpark and provides a cheap basic breakfast should you need it. Staff very helpful - I managed to leave a camera memory card in my room and had a phone call to tell me: as I was already 70 miles away, they arranged to post it to a friend's house in Wellington - top marks!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_R99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2019

Stayed a couple of nights here, lovely room, spacious bathroom, accommodated three adults easily, close to everything, a short stroll to the Octagon, and then you're on George Street.

The owners were very welcoming, and very helpful.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hurleys2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

Our room is on the third floor at the back of the building. This may be the reason it was relatively quiet for a central city location. The room is a generous size with kitchenette and en suite bathroom. The hot water in the shower is a little tricky to regulate but not really a big problem. It is well appointed but is not air conditioned which would have been better as it was quite hot the first two nights we were here. The only disappointment was the breakfast. Yes it was very cheap but very limited. However there are many great alternative places to eat close by. All in all, a nice place and walking distance to the city centre.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews