We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$352
Fully refundable before Thu, 14 Mar
Priceline
$396
Expedia.com
$374
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
188
27
14
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
27
14
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews press club beautiful hotel continental breakfast special weekend junior suite welcome drink duty manager coffee machine heritage building valet service valet parking restaurant staff a wonderful stay street parking boutique hotel quiet room appointed rooms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

Super trendy, well appointed rooms ( sadly our room had no window - check if you are on 2nd floor). Super modern decor but highly comfortable
Great location, walk everywhere in town. Check out the street art nearby.
Restaurant attached for a fabulous breakfast and super coffee. Valet parking. Great staff.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Steele, Guest Services / Front Office at Fable Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2023

Dear Joanne,
It was so lovely to have you stay with us. We are so delighted to see that you really enjoyed your stay.
We are very lucky to be located right in the heart of the Street Art self guided tour and just a short walk to the Octagon, the hub of our lovely wee city.
Thank you once again for your excellent review! We hope that next time your having a holiday in New Zealand you will come to stay again.
Kind Regards
Charlotte & the team of Fable Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

We LOVED this hotel. It was quaint and unique and we were able to walk everywhere. The staff was super friendly and helpful and even made dinner reservations for us at an offsite restaurant. We valet parked our car and never had to worry about finding parking or our car being secured. We would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Definitely valet park your car. I would not have wanted to find parking in the area.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Whitford4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Steele, Guest Services / Front Office at Fable Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2023

Dear Whitford4,
Wow thank you for your excellent review! We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our team are always very happy to assist our guests with any requests including recommendations for local restaurants.
We really enjoyed looking after you while you stayed with us, and hope that this trip is one of many to come.
I look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Kind Regards,
Charlotte Steele & the team of Fable Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2023

Lovely small hotel right on Princes Street. Excellent hotel in a good location. Super attentive staff, high tech room, and very comfy bed. Parking can be tricky so I recommend the fee-based valet parking. Staff are very accommodating about bringing the car around when you need it.
Ate a few meals there whihc were good but on the expensive side. Nice lobby and lounge area.

Room tip: Spring for the paid vale parking as street parking is hard to find during business hours.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Steele, Guest Services / Front Office at Fable Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2023

Dear A3056MEkimh,
Thank you for your excellent review.
It is so lovely to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our Concierge team are always happy to assist guests with parking and valuable local information about Dunedin, its great that you found there service perfect for your needs.
We are always very pleased when our guests join us at The Press Club to dine or even have a cocktail or two.
Thank you once again for review.
We really hope that you can come back to stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Charlotte Steele and the team of Fable Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2023 via mobile

We have nothing to fault. Staff were very pleasant. Valet parking made it easy. Food and restaurant staff friendly. The only thing, the bathroom could have had another look over as there was something floating in the toilet bowl, nothing bad just dirt off something.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Steele, Guest Services / Front Office at Fable Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear Murray,

Thank you for your excellent review.
Its so lovely to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found our additional services such as valet parking valuable and easy to use.
We are vey lucky to have a very talented group of chefs who work with us to create stunning food for you to enjoy.
I hope that this is the first of many visits - we would love to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards,
Charlotte Steele & The team of Fable Dunedin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2023

The Love Story package was an excellent treat for my partners birthday and well worth it. Fable is a beautiful part of Dunedin and its history and our stay was very comfortable and luxurious. The food and the chef were brilliant and each part of the meal was delicious and satisfying in a very pretty setting with kind and helpful staff. I will certainly be back for dinners.

So close to the Octagon and Brewery etc. the location is in a beautifully historic part of the city that has inspired me to spend more time in as a local to Dunedin. Colors and decor including the luxury perfumed scent in the foyer was all part of the wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a fancy staycation or one of the best hotel stays in Dunedin. I would also Highly recommend the love story package for romantic stays as it ticked all the boxes and made everything so easy and romantic on our stay.

Loved it and can't wait for the occasion to stay again and eat again.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Inspire42715141609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charlotte Steele, Guest Services / Front Office at Fable Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear Inspire,

What a lovely review you have left for our team.
We really cherish being able to be a part of special occasions for our guests, making your stay comfortable and as memorable as possible.
We are incredibly lucky to be so conveniently located so close to all the amazing places Dunedin has to offer and I am happy to hear that you got to enjoy it all.
Our chefs would be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in The Press Club, I will pass your positive feedback onto them.
We would love to have you as both hotel and restaurant guests in the future! :)

Warm regards,
Charlotte Steele & Team Fable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews