We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$239
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Expedia.com
$239
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$205
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
160
147
68
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
160
147
68
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new wing great location shower over bath railway station comfortable bed walking distance would stay again no air conditioning close to town stayed nights octagon hospital university
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the Victorian hotel for one night and we absolutely loved it our room was fantastic and the staff were absolutely lovely couldn’t fault it at all. The room service was super fast and the breakfast we had was absolutely delicious. We were on a budget and we definitely got our money worth and more bonuses they were amazing

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DelanaS2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Dear DelanaS2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our facilities and the service of our staff.
It's also great to hear that your had a good dining experience at our restaurant, and we certainly are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Kind regards,
Victoria Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020

Stacey made the stay extra enjoyable with her willingness to help and going the extra mile. Her service was awesome her boss needs to give her a pay rise.Thanks Stacey you are the true nvp.

Also the lamb shanks were tender and fell off the bone. Full of flavour also I recomend asking for a random shot makes the experience that much more of an adventure.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Poogie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Dear Poogie15,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear you were satisfied with the service of our staff!

We're also happy to hear that your dining experience with us was great and a little bit adventurous!

We hope to see you at the Victoria Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020

This was our third stay at this hotel and we stayed for 2 nights. On the previous occasions we have been in rooms in the new block, but this time we were put in a room in the old main hotel building. Rooms not quite as modern, but perfectly comfortable. Staff are helpful. We had free parking included as we had booked via the hotel website, but if the hotel is busy they clearly do not have enough car parks available. On our second day when we returned to the hotel late afternoon the car parks were all full. Fortunately someone left shortly after we arrived so we got a park. I presume you have to pay for parking offsite if the hotel and car parking is full. But it was good to see the hotel busy post COVID lockdowns.
The location of the hotel is good, in easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Despite being on the corner of a busy intersection we had no problems with traffic noise.
We will continue to use this hotel as our base when in Dunedin.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Dear roaming_kiwi58

Thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel and I am glad to know that you have been enjoying your stays with us.

Our Superior Rooms in the new block definitely have better facilities, such as double glazing windows and air conditioning, than the main block rooms. But please be assured that we had renovated the main block rooms just two to three years ago, and have regular maintenance done to all rooms to make sure they are up to the standard.

As for the car parking, we have almost 40 car parks onsite while it would certainly still not be enough for some days when everyone checks in with a car. However, we have been working with the Wilson Car Parking beside the Farmers Department store and opposite to our hotel's parking area. In case the hotel's onsite car park is full, our reception can pass an exit ticket to the guest to park at the Wilson Car Park for the night. Please feel free to contact our reception if you have the trouble of finding a car park on your next visit.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. Perfect location of a night out in Dunedin. The staff are super friendly and the prices are more than competitive. I won’t be staying anywhere else. You have to pay extra to park your car. Small price to pay for knowing it is off the street and safe. 🤩 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Dear Ovickyj,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that our property ticked most of the boxes for you, in terms of our location, staff, room rates.

We look forward to having you stay with us again and We also recommend booking directly on our official website which includes exclusive free parking that isn't available on any other website!

We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020

Stayed here for one night. Service is very poor so people should be trained to NZ service standards. Went to restaurant for dinner at 8.02pm only to be told dinner finishes at 8pm and even though only 8 people in the Restaurant they would not serve us. Asked for a room with a view and they gave one with a roof right next to the window. so our view was a roof. Paying $10 for parking as well. Breakfast was a joke. the Continental Buffet was the saddest Buffet i have ever seen and they do not do a hot food Buffet. Luckily was only for one night but this is a 3 star hotel with 1 star service.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BN151
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Dear BN151,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your review.

It is unfortunate to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectation. This is definitely not the standard we strive to deliver to our valued guests.

Due to the ongoing shift in business caused by covid-19, our restaurant has been running at reduced timings and capacity, and we offer our sincerest apologies however we do hope this provides some understanding.

With the hotel being situated in the city centre, not all of our hotel rooms come with a view. With our standard rooms being located on the first and second floor these do not offer a lot in terms of view from the rooms apart from the roof and the car park.

We feel that our nightly car parking fee of $10.00 per vehicle is very reasonable compared with other similar properties located in the city centre with parking being premium in Dunedin. However we would like to highlight to you that we do offer free parking when booked directly on the hotel's official website.

Although we do not currently offer a hot buffet at breakfast, due to the uncertainty with demand, however we do offer an a la carte menu for guests who prefer hot food rather than the continental option.

We acknowledge that your experience with us left you feeling disappointed. However, if you would like to give us the opportunity, we would do our utmost to turn your experience around to a much more pleasant one.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews