We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John P

Great stay, friendly staff

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Mar 2024via mobile
Centrally located hotel near sights, coffee shops, restaurants—very friendly and helpful staff! Rooms were spacious, clean and had amenities—coffee set up, large refrigerator, soap etc and laundry detergent. Was quiet—on site restaurant that we did not get a chance to try.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. Glad to hear that the staff were helpful and the room met your expectations.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,
Sagar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$479
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • TiCATi.com
    $209
  • Expedia.com
    $479
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $170
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $193
  • Hotels.com
    $213
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Kitchen Room
$200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $176
  • Expedia.com
    $180
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Expedia.com
    $150
1.5 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free parking
Dunedin
$189
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $180
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
$314
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $281
  • Agoda.com
    $278
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $102
  • Expedia.com
    $133
8.2 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Hotel
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    $114
  • Lol.travel
0.3 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $165
9.7 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
384
436
148
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
436
148
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic circle central location hotel restaurant dunedin city good size reception staff speights brewery spacious room walking distance great room car parking one night stay octagon beds nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2024

This is an average hotel in the city of Dunedin. It's centrally located in the city next to many restaurants and things to do in the city. I stayed for one night while on a bus tour with AAKings. I would stay at this place again. It was a clean area with a great breakfast.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Hello there,

Thank you for your time and review.

Glad to hear that you would consider staying with us again.

Thanks,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Lovely spacious room, very clean (commending the housekeeping staff!)
Our king bed was SOOOOO comfy not to mention the amazing views over the city / harbour. Room service staff very efficient and friendly.
It was so close to everything we wanted in the city.
Would DEFINITELY come back to stay.

Room tip: Room service staff happy to provide non diary milk for your coffee if you ask.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BarbarellaNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to give us a lovely review. Really appreciate that the team efforts are highlighted.

Thanks,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

Clean comfortable rooms and a central location. Everything you need is provided in the rooms safe fridge wine glasses cups tea coffee (including a decent coffee bag!) WiFi is great. Location is perfect for everything in the centre with loads of bars and restaurants nearby. There was plenty of parking available at the sister hotel a 5 minute walk away and we were able to unload our car with cases etc. then drive to the other hotel to park. All staff were so friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank poroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and leaving us a lovely review.

Furthermore, it is good to hear that the team was able to provide you with a great customer service experience. We also appreciate you highlighting the amenities provided.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Nice big room and comfy bed. Nice room service staff. Carpet has no underlay which was wierd, no ice tray in fridge freezer, and rooms felt a bit"stuffy" but ok. Got ripped off when booking on line instead of direct at reception ( $160) and manager offered no sweetner.. not even breakfast. Overall, good location but would go elswhere for a better deal.

Room tip: A bit tired ... could do with a spruce up.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Kia Ora,

Firstly, thank you for staying with us. Apologies as the service and amenities were short of your expectations.

We ask every guest to contact the hotel directly for bookings as if booked online we are unable to change prices.

Thank you,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024

I can only apologise for this review but we were very disappointed with our room. Firstly there are 2 Scenic hotels not far from each other font get caught out. Reception staff friendly enough and to start the hotel seemed fine u til we got into the room. A dark and unwelcoming room which was in need of modernising. It had the feel of an office that had been converted into a bedroom. The bathroom was a disability room and was cleanish, but not the most welcoming. The duvet was filthy which wasn't noticed until our last day and looked to have blood stains on it. The room had coffee making facilities, ironing board etc. There is a gym, restaurant and guest lsundry. The cleaning staff were great, the hotel is central and on a main bus route. Overall for a superior run of house room it was not and we wouldnt stay here again

Room tip: Check your bedding
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Kia Ora,
Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies as the team has let you down. Apologies as the room was not satisfactory and I hope that you reached out to the team during your stay to see if they could have offered you a resolution. Sad to hear that the duvet was not clean; I will get this message passed on to our housekeeping manager to investigate further.
Regards,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews