We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Didi
Picton, New Zealand

Great Southern Hospitality

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Jan 2024via mobile
I'm a Tour Manager. The Staff went out of their way to assist me with more than a few things. They were polite, super helpful Staff, friendly and kind, and were always at the ready. The Chef was super amiable and facilitated our last minute requirements with good grace, making us all feel welcome. We'll done team.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Great food at Bacchus. Try speights beer, book a seal and Albatros tour with Monarch Tours, Visit...
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Hi There,

Thank you for your time and feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Sagar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$479
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $410
  • TiCATi.com
    $209
  • Expedia.com
    $479
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Vio.com
    $146
  • Expedia.com
    $170
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $213
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Kitchen Room
$200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $200
  • Agoda.com
    $171
  • Expedia.com
    $200
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Hotel
$129
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Vio.com
    $113
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $179
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$314
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $292
  • Agoda.com
    $281
  • Expedia.com
    $299
0.5 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$164
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $165
9.7 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
$189
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $189
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $189
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
$145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $119
  • Expedia.com
    $133
8.2 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
384
436
148
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
436
148
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic circle central location hotel restaurant dunedin city good size reception staff speights brewery spacious room walking distance great room car parking one night stay octagon beds nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2023

Amazing accomodation, great room, cosy relaxing bad.
Good choose on restaurant, as well good food.
Reception, always ready to help.
Really 5 star hotel!
Located in Duneden fown town you will find close many facilities, shops, restaurants,etc

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Hi there,

Greetings of the day.

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We really appreciate the five stars.

Thanking you.

Regards,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2023

Central location, rooms are getting dated and could do with a re furb.
Good walking distance to centre, For the price I think it should be a little better in terms of presentation. Room was clean and large

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chch35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Hi There,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad that you found the rooms spacious and enjoyed due to the handy location.

Hope to see you again.

Regards,
Sagar


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Exceptional service from every staff member we dealt with. They went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect and memorable for all the right reasons....and they succeeded. Lovely fresh linens, prompt room service, delightful reception staff and excellent attention in the restaurant. Highly recommend the Scenic Hotel Dunedin City.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoJoColeTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to leave a review.

it is great to see that all our team members are doing their best to provide warm hospitality and keeping guests happy.

Hope to see you again.

Regards,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2023

Even tho it was just a short stay, I can confidently say it was a perfect one ! Starting from the super quick check in (and check out) by Nicole at the front desk to meeting our requests for breakfast and dinner on time. Food was delicious, good portions and reasonably priced. The staff was pleasant helpful at the cafe and the housekeeper upstairs helped me with carrying one of my bags to the lift. The room was clean, cosy, and bright. Jessica who I first spoke to when I made my booking left a note that we get a harbour view room and late check out which was all met when we checked in with Lovely Nicole! Everything was great! Will be coming back.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scenic39801146799
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thak you for taking the time and leaving us valuable feedback.

It is good to know that the team at Scenic made your stay as easy as possible.

Hope to see you at Scenic Dunedin City again.

Regards,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Our tour of the South Island put us here, the hotel isn’t fancy but it is well located near the Octogon, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Very helpful staff there, comfy bed. Close to the train station, long walk from the botanical garden

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Northern_Traveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and have also highlighted our staff.

Hope to see you again on your next tour.

Regards,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews