We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Scenic39801146799

Great Place to stay and amazing staff!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Nov 2023
Even tho it was just a short stay, I can confidently say it was a perfect one ! Starting from the super quick check in (and check out) by Nicole at the front desk to meeting our requests for breakfast and dinner on time. Food was delicious, good portions and reasonably priced. The staff was pleasant helpful at the cafe and the housekeeper upstairs helped me with carrying one of my bags to the lift. The room was clean, cosy, and bright. Jessica who I first spoke to when I made my booking left a note that we get a harbour view room and late check out which was all met when we checked in with Lovely Nicole! Everything was great! Will be coming back.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Dear Guest,

Thak you for taking the time and leaving us valuable feedback.

It is good to know that the team at Scenic made your stay as easy as possible.

Hope to see you at Scenic Dunedin City again.

Regards,
Sagar

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$210
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$180
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $180
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
$178
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Alhambra Oaks Property
$145
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $145
1.6 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
$158
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $158
9.7 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$150
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free parking
$143
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.2 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Kitchen Room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $203
4.2 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
384
436
148
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
436
148
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic circle central location hotel restaurant dunedin city good size reception staff speights brewery spacious room walking distance great room car parking one night stay octagon beds nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Our tour of the South Island put us here, the hotel isn’t fancy but it is well located near the Octogon, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Very helpful staff there, comfy bed. Close to the train station, long walk from the botanical garden

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Northern_Traveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and have also highlighted our staff.

Hope to see you again on your next tour.

Regards,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023

The beds were super comfortable and a great selection of pillows. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast with fancy coffees was very good value for money. Rooms were spacious and modern and had a teapot! Lovely.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Miranda1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Kia Ora Miranda,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City.

Hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Sagar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2023

I had a huge room at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City which is located 2 blocks from the Octagon. The room had a fridge, kettle, toiletries, a table with chairs. I am not sure if there is a/c as I put the temperature on the lowest setting and the room didn’t cool down so it was a bit stuffy in April. Breakfast was awesome as there were yogurt parfaits, smoothies, and hot cross buns for Easter as well as the usual breakfast items. The only complaint I have for the hotel was that one of the pillowcases had a blood stain on it.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 808giggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2023

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really appreciate it!
I've passed your comments on to the maintainance team regarding the A/C so they can look to make sure it is working. I've also passed your comments regarding the pillowcase to the housekeeping team, I'm extremely sorry about this, and I'll be looking into why this was allowed to happen.
We're very glad you enjoyed the rest of your time with us though, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2023

After initially going to the wrong Scenic Circle we got redirected just up the road. Very spacious rooms and our room had an awesome view of the harbour.

Lovely central location. 2 blocks from Octagon and 1 from Casino

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2023

Hi Grant,
thank you for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! We're sorry about the confusion between the two hotels, but we're glad you got to us in the end. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2023 via mobile

Well located in centre of Dunedin city. Friendly welcome. Front desk staff were easy to deal with and helpful.
We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Great to get interconnecting rooms 714 and 715. King bed in 714 and two doubles in 715. Perfect. Nice view over the water and city. Good sized rooms. Facilities and amenities (bathrooms) are simple but modern.
Extra blankets provided too for cooler month June.
The next morning, Breakfast was good selections across hot full breakfast and continental breakfast.
Taxi to the airport or shuttle can be organized by front desk. Lounge area has a nice small bar and fireplace.
It’s a 4-star hotel in style but for a family stay, it ticks the needs and is recommended.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChrisIQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Hi Chris,
We're extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We really try our best to make sure that al our our guests enjoy their stay and feel looked after. We hope to see you again soon in the future!

Best regards,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews