We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
happykoabug
Honolulu, Hawaii

Nice hotel in the center of Dunedin

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jul 2023
I had a huge room at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City which is located 2 blocks from the Octagon. The room had a fridge, kettle, toiletries, a table with chairs. I am not sure if there is a/c as I put the temperature on the lowest setting and the room didn’t cool down so it was a bit stuffy in April. Breakfast was awesome as there were yogurt parfaits, smoothies, and hot cross buns for Easter as well as the usual breakfast items. The only complaint I have for the hotel was that one of the pillowcases had a blood stain on it.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review
Responded 6 Jul 2023
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really appreciate it!
I've passed your comments on to the maintainance team regarding the A/C so they can look to make sure it is working. I've also passed your comments regarding the pillowcase to the housekeeping team, I'm extremely sorry about this, and I'll be looking into why this was allowed to happen.
We're very glad you enjoyed the rest of your time with us though, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,
Jordan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$239
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $214
  • Vio.com
    $206
  • Expedia.com
    $239
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$213
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $214
  • Agoda.com
    $187
  • Hotels.com
    $198
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • Agoda.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $161
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Kitchen Room
$200
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $200
  • Vio.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $197
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Algotels
    $180
  • Vio.com
    $182
0.5 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Hotel
$113
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Official Site
    $106
  • Trip.com
    $146
  • Vio.com
    $119
0.3 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Vio.com
    $153
  • Hotels.com
    $179
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$158
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $166
  • Agoda.com
    $150
  • Priceline
    $164
9.7 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
Alhambra Oaks Property
$166
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $151
  • Trip.com
    $178
1.6 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $143
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
    $150
8.2 km from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
384
436
148
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
436
148
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic circle central location hotel restaurant dunedin city good size reception staff speights brewery spacious room walking distance great room car parking one night stay octagon beds nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2023

After initially going to the wrong Scenic Circle we got redirected just up the road. Very spacious rooms and our room had an awesome view of the harbour.

Lovely central location. 2 blocks from Octagon and 1 from Casino

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2023

Hi Grant,
thank you for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! We're sorry about the confusion between the two hotels, but we're glad you got to us in the end. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2023 via mobile

Well located in centre of Dunedin city. Friendly welcome. Front desk staff were easy to deal with and helpful.
We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Great to get interconnecting rooms 714 and 715. King bed in 714 and two doubles in 715. Perfect. Nice view over the water and city. Good sized rooms. Facilities and amenities (bathrooms) are simple but modern.
Extra blankets provided too for cooler month June.
The next morning, Breakfast was good selections across hot full breakfast and continental breakfast.
Taxi to the airport or shuttle can be organized by front desk. Lounge area has a nice small bar and fireplace.
It’s a 4-star hotel in style but for a family stay, it ticks the needs and is recommended.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChrisIQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Hi Chris,
We're extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We really try our best to make sure that al our our guests enjoy their stay and feel looked after. We hope to see you again soon in the future!

Best regards,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2023 via mobile

Good size rooms. Lovely and warm. Spotlessly clean. Bathroom a bit tired but nice towels and everything there.
Staff friendly but breakfast ordinarily. Food Luke warm. Lower quality.
Location great and close to city centre.
Overall a very good stay.

Room tip: Breakfast plenty of better cafes close by
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank gerardg969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DCH Duty, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2023

Hi Gerard,
Thank you for leaving a review, we really appreciate it! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I'm glad our staff left a good impression. I'll pass along your comments regarding the breakfast to our kitchen team, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We hope to see you again in the future.
best regards,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2023

We had another fabulous stay at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City. This hotel is centrally situated with everything in easy walking distance.. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy with fabulous views. I highly recommend and would stay at Scenic Hotels in other regions.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Discover16896735292
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Clifton, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2023

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you had another wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long.

With best wishes

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2023

The staff are knowledgeable and very friendly. It's like being invited in by a family at Xmas
It is also one of the few hotels where the Manager, Adrian is proactive and helps with bags ,coffees and general departures.
Amazing experience!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dream26988686499
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Clifton, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2023

Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!

With best wishes

Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews