We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
317
375
122
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
375
122
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking valet service princes street scenic circle room was large free wifi hotel restaurant room service dunedin city central location per day good size mini bar comfortable beds within walking distance cadbury factory stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 853 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Staff was very friendly. Check in and check out went quickly, concierges are very helpful.
Bed and pillows are comfortable, feel like bed at home.
Good job guys! Well done :)
Location is right in city center so everything around very close to the hotel.
I recommend to visit this hotel!

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Olya1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks so much Olya we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your recommendation.
Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel was not bad but it wasn't that much either. But still, we had a good sleep in this hotel and what I liked is its location. It's near to so many stores and restaurants. I enjoyed walking around this hotel

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks so much Grace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

For $240.00 for a 2x Dbl bed for 2 gal pals it was ok, could of been cleaner, the windows were dirty n the basin was cracked..in the very small bathroom, The Internet was average.
But the bed was comfortable n it was a bit nippy, had good heating.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank angelinewelch46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Guest
Thanks for your feedback and we will certainly take this on board for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Stayed here for two nights. The location is very central within a short walk to the station and the Octagon. However, the surrounding area is quite shabby and run down.

Our room was massive, but despite this the bathroom was very small and there was no bath, just a shower. There was also no air conditioning and having the windows open was not really an option because of the traffic noise.

The fixtures and fittings are a bit tired and the building itself is of a horrible 1980s (?) design.

The staff were lovely and especially helpful when I managed to spill red wine on the bed late in the evening. They brought up clean bedding and remade the bed for us.

We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the quality of the food.

There is valet parking but if you are here at the weekend you can park on the street for free.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Julie
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay we really appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. But nothing stood out and the facility could use some updating. The location is decent, but not great. Sound proofing could be improved as the city sounds were noticeable.

Great breakfast place right around the corner, the Black Dog.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks for your feedback Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews