We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
313
370
119
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
370
119
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingprinces streetroom was largefree wifihotel restaurantdunedin cityroom servicegood sizecentral locationcomfortable bedsmini barwithin walking distancereception staffno air conditioningbars and restaurantscadbury factorymodern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

For $240.00 for a 2x Dbl bed for 2 gal pals it was ok, could of been cleaner, the windows were dirty n the basin was cracked..in the very small bathroom, The Internet was average.
But the bed was comfortable n it was a bit nippy, had good heating.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank angelinewelch46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Guest
Thanks for your feedback and we will certainly take this on board for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Stayed here for two nights. The location is very central within a short walk to the station and the Octagon. However, the surrounding area is quite shabby and run down.

Our room was massive, but despite this the bathroom was very small and there was no bath, just a shower. There was also no air conditioning and having the windows open was not really an option because of the traffic noise.

The fixtures and fittings are a bit tired and the building itself is of a horrible 1980s (?) design.

The staff were lovely and especially helpful when I managed to spill red wine on the bed late in the evening. They brought up clean bedding and remade the bed for us.

We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the quality of the food.

There is valet parking but if you are here at the weekend you can park on the street for free.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Julie
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay we really appreciate it and hope to see you again.
Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. But nothing stood out and the facility could use some updating. The location is decent, but not great. Sound proofing could be improved as the city sounds were noticeable.

Great breakfast place right around the corner, the Black Dog.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks for your feedback Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Absolutely one of the best hotels in all of our travels around the world. For once I cannot find anything wanting in the way of service, comfort, location, staff, and facilities. Congratulations to the manager and staff for their attention to our needs. They let us have a late checkout at short notice when I contracted a travel bug. No questions asked & concerned for my well-being. I got back on our AAT Kings coach on time feeling much better.

The hotel has lots to offer, so be rest assured it is an excellent choice of hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear William
Thanks so much for your great review, we really appreciate your feedback and were delighted that you enjoyed such a pleasant stay with us. We hope you you recovered well and managed to enjoy the rest of your trip and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in corner room no extra cost. Very comfortable and loads of space. Close to shops and restaurants. Valet parking is quick.
You can park out on the street for FREE from 6pm-9am.
We’ll be definitely coming back again

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Pana
We were really glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and stay so much and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews