We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Nearby Hotels
Pacific Park Suites(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunedin Palms Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larnach Castle Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexis Motor Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
312
363
119
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
363
119
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingvalet serviceprinces streetroom was largefree wifihotel restaurantroom servicedunedin citycentral locationgood sizecomfortable bedswithin walking distancemini barreception staffno air conditioningbars and restaurantscadbury factory
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We stayed at the Scenic Hotel on a recommendation from our travel agent. What a great hotel! We arrived early around 10am and easily were able to leave our luggage with the desk as we were too early for check in. We headed off to lunch -- this hotel is centrally located with many many shops and restaurants at your finger tips. One of my favorite things about the hotel was the lobby water infused with fruit - was very refreshing! Later when we came back to the hotel we checked in to a huge room. It had all the amenities one could ask for. They are eco-friendly and I think even won some awards. The bath products smell like heaven! And they give you a little bag to encourage you to take home the remaining products so they don't get wasted. We are travelers that don't like our room made up and had the do not disturb sign up for the day. When we came back from activities one evening we came back to a basket outside our door filled with towels, bath amenities and extra coffee! What? That was definitely what made me give them 5 stars in this review. I've never had a hotel be so thoughtful. Also they were very communicative when we had changes to our pick up times for tours. Last - the breakfast in the morning was perfect. If you are vegan or vegetarian this is a great hotel that accommodates you! And not just the typical fruit...they did a full bean dish that was super flavorful, potatoes, hummus and roasted tomatoes. Oh and the coffee is nice and strong. Yum. Enjoy! You will love it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dear Susie
Thanks so much for your great review we really appreciate it and were absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, it was our pleasure to host you and we hope you are able to return again.
Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Rooms are very spacious so ideal for twin share.
Beds are fantastic and a joy to sleep in.
Staff are very helpful friendly.
Only blimps are little space on bathroom vanity and limited sky sport channels.
We stayed 2 nights on a golf tour and it was perfect for us.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank fridge24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Guest
Thanks so much for your review, we were really happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back in Dunedin again soon.
Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We have stayed 3 nights here and I would definitely stay again. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in! You just sink in and never want to get up! Smack dab in the middle of everything and walking distance by a few minutes to any place you want to go. The prices are excellent and the staff very friendly. Definitely worth staying here.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor away from the street, very quiet huge rooms high ceilings,warm and again the best beds!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wwwgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Guests
Thanks so much for your great review, we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the beds so much and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel was very conveniently situated on Princes Street in the city centre with an easy walk to the Octagon, historic sites and a little further to the Dunedin Botanic Gardens.

Welcoming, friendly and efficient reception staff who were organized, as on arrival, our group’s keys were neatly laid out in rows for collection and our bags were delivered to the rooms in no time.

Good sized, clean rooms with a view to Port Chalmers Harbour. Very comfortable beds, warm douna and great pillows.

The special touch, I haven’t found anywhere else in my overseas travel was the lovely takeaway Eco Bag of the “Earths Botanics” soap, hand & body lotion, shampoo & conditioner, bath & shower gel and last but not least a sachet of laundry powder.

An excellent idea and I thank you.

Breakfast catered for everyone’s needs with an array of fresh fruits, cereals, muesli including Bircher, with nuts and seeds then the full range of the normal hot dishes, also a range of cold meats etc

Our group had an evening dinner and my salmon was superbly cooked with a delicate lemon caper sauce followed by my choice of desserts, a lemon pavlova nest with raspberry coulis which was delicious.

A great place to stay in Dunedin and I will be coming back here again.

Congratulations to everyone.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank MargaretJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Margaret
Thanks so much for your lovely review we were so pleased to hear how much you and your group enjoyed your stay and meals and delighted that you will be coming back to stay with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We are on group tour with 30 people. From arrival to departure our stay for 2 nights was the best so far. The bed comfort was particularly good. All staff were certainly geared for any issue raised. Location is also very helpful for any need.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pierre664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Pierre
Thank you for your great review, we are so glad you and your group enjoyed your stay so much and were absolutely delighted to hear that this has been your best stay to date that's fantastic. We hope you enjoy the rest of your tour and are able to visit us again.
Kind regards
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews