We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Priceline
$160
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
No prepayment needed
Official Site
$123
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
40
70
52
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
70
52
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel reception art deco building earplugs provided road noise bed was comfortable toilet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2020 via mobile

It's been a while since our last stay here and the first thing we noticed was the vast improvement to the carpets and staff. While the previous did the job, the freshness of the flooring and the friendliness of the staff were clear enhancements. Our room was very clean; the shower, albeit old, had fantastic pressure and the road noise was minimal.
Our continental breakfast ($12.50) was more than a good start to the day, so our overall stay was spot on and very enjoyable, especially as the entire stay cost less than $120. Wonderful value for money.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank GrayMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jia Liu, Owner at The Law Courts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Hi Gray,
Thank you so much for the lovely words. We really appreciate your feedback. The renovation is taking step by step slowly because of the current world pandemic. I will definitely pass your feedback to our team. Hopeful, you will find some other new features on your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2020

Host was very helpful and pleasant as were all other staff.
Room was adequate but didnt get much sleep due to a generator fridge unit motor thumping all night under the window .
Plenty of power points but hard to access for an older person ,had to boil jug on floor .Addition of a microwave be useful .
Reastaurant meal very nice ,good service .

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyC4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jia Liu, Owner at The Law Courts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2020

Thank you for your comments, Wendy. It is really helpful for us to improve our performance. We will certainly take your comments on board for future refurbishment. Kind regards,
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2020

Room had everything I needed, including adequate electric outlets. Only a 2-3 block walk to historic old churches and the Dunedin Railroad station. Hotel was also only two blocks from the Intercity Bus Stop.

Room tip: street noise would probably be less on the upper floors
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Curtis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lchoteldunedin, Manager at The Law Courts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2020

Hi cwhancock46,
Thank you kindly for your review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

ด้วยสถานการณ์ไวรัส โควิด ลูกค้าเดินทางไม่ได้ และประเทศนิวซีแลนด์ก็ปิดเข้าประเทศ การยกเลิกโรงแรมที่จองไว้ ควรคืนให้ลูกค้ากลับ ชาร์จเรียกเก็บเต็มจำนวน โดยไม่สนสถานการณ์ ด้วยประโยค "Cancellation
The guest will be charged the total price of the reservation if they cancel anytime." ด้วยสถานการณ์นี้ควรจะเข้าใจโลก แต่กลับปฎิเสธบ่งบอกถึงเจ้าของกิจการ ห่วย ไม่มีศีลธรรมทางธุรกิจ ท่านใดกำลังจะจองขอให้คิดให้ดีเราจะสนับสนุนอีกหรอ

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank _A8371IZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2020

On arrival at my single room I was reminded of the way things used to be. The architecture didn't allow for modernisation however I had all the ammenities. The room was warm and clean with private bathroom and a flat screen.
Location is excellent, staff smile and are welcoming. Friends stayed in a double room on the hotel cornerwith views over the street and enough room to host a couple of guests.

Room tip: Corner rooms have views
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews