We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest”
Review of Fish hook

Fish hook
Ranked #9 of 55 Quick Bites in Dunedin
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Being NZ's most iconic dish, Fish Hook takes a new approach to revive the reputation of kiwi 'fush and chups' as we know it. Providing the highest quality fresh fish caught from our own boat in the local waters off the southern coast. We offer a wide range of species to choose from, Blue Cod, Sole, Monk and Gurnard just to name a few. Choose to have your fresh fish beer battered, crumbed or grilled (for those looking for a healthy option).Team this with your choice of shoestring, chunky McCain's fries or Kumera fries (sweet potato), a variety of sauces or pick from the range of fresh salads to create your ideal fish and chip meal.If you want to get a bit fancy or try something different there's also calamari rings,scallops, sweet chilli prawn skewers or salt n pepper squid to name a few of your options and if you need something to quench your thurst. Local ales such as the classic southern Speights or Emersons are available along with a fine pick of wines and non alcoholic beverages.Locally owned and operated. Take away or sit in and enjoy a warm friendly atmosphere in the heart of Dunedin city.
Reviewed 28 May 2021

I asked the lady 3 times, " is the blue cod fresh or frozen". She said "fresh, not frozen". The lady said, "very fresh". It did not even taste like blue cod. It was a frozen red cod. Fish was uncooked and sticky flour over it.
The most horrible fish n chips I have ever had.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shamhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2021

We bought a piece of gurnard and a piece of blue cod plus a scoop of chips. They were all packed in the same takeaway container inside a paper-bag. Arriving back at our motel we could not figure which piece was which fish. Could have indicated to us before we left (e.g. the cod is next to the wedge of lemon).

Small portions of tasty fish. For the price paid, not good value.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smilee168
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Visited after many great recommendations. The Pad thai was very good - beef plentiful & juicy. The blue cod portions were small - mean - and not value for money.
Woild return for the Thai food takeaways.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank mcavty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2020 via mobile

The staff are courteous and genuinely helpful . The people portion sizes are very generous and we have not had a bad dish . Quick service and it’s our go to place for a nice meal

Date of visit: July 2020
2  Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2020

Loved the food, the reasonable prices, and the funky interior design. We were looking for something quick and easy, and we came to the right place. The seafood was delicious and the pertions were generous. Came in hungry and left fully satisfied.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank klvmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Fish hook also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Fish hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.