We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and delicious ”
Review of Fish hook

Fish hook
Ranked #9 of 55 Quick Bites in Dunedin
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Being NZ's most iconic dish, Fish Hook takes a new approach to revive the reputation of kiwi 'fush and chups' as we know it. Providing the highest quality fresh fish caught from our own boat in the local waters off the southern coast. We offer a wide range of species to choose from, Blue Cod, Sole, Monk and Gurnard just to name a few. Choose to have your fresh fish beer battered, crumbed or grilled (for those looking for a healthy option).Team this with your choice of shoestring, chunky McCain's fries or Kumera fries (sweet potato), a variety of sauces or pick from the range of fresh salads to create your ideal fish and chip meal.If you want to get a bit fancy or try something different there's also calamari rings,scallops, sweet chilli prawn skewers or salt n pepper squid to name a few of your options and if you need something to quench your thurst. Local ales such as the classic southern Speights or Emersons are available along with a fine pick of wines and non alcoholic beverages.Locally owned and operated. Take away or sit in and enjoy a warm friendly atmosphere in the heart of Dunedin city.
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

I was delighted that the meal was served within minutes. Even better the Thai was tasty and affordable.
The staff were very helpful, even willingly providing handwritten receipt when asked.
Bonus - quiet and licensed

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank DocPebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2019

The place does a good range of foods and the fish fresh which is very important , and the salad with it very good and ill eat there again .The lady serving was nice .The place was plain but good food

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2019 via mobile

Service was really good, but the fish was ruined by the awful taste of old oil. The frier oil needs changing.

Date of visit: September 2019
4  Thank Gypsy2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2019

We really like your fish and chips - freshly cooked fish and great chips. But, we tried the Thai food tonight and I'm not sure if you were trying to "bland" it for kiwi tastes, but we found it very uninspiring. Not much flavour at all. We usually love Thai food but this was quite bland. Please cook the food the way I'm sure you cook it for yourself with great Thai flavours. We had the chicken pad thai and tofu, veges and oyster sauce.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank logies2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2019

Be careful of the female lady of Asian ethnicity whom works on the counter. I’m sure it’s fraud, she’ll overprice your meal without you realising. Instant $10 profit. Has happened 4 times now. Watch out!

Date of visit: May 2019
4  Thank Jsobowe1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Fish hook also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Fish hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.