We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fish and chips”
Review of Fish hook

Fish hook
Ranked #10 of 56 Quick Bites in Dunedin
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Being NZ's most iconic dish, Fish Hook takes a new approach to revive the reputation of kiwi 'fush and chups' as we know it. Providing the highest quality fresh fish caught from our own boat in the local waters off the southern coast. We offer a wide range of species to choose from, Blue Cod, Sole, Monk and Gurnard just to name a few. Choose to have your fresh fish beer battered, crumbed or grilled (for those looking for a healthy option).Team this with your choice of shoestring, chunky McCain's fries or Kumera fries (sweet potato), a variety of sauces or pick from the range of fresh salads to create your ideal fish and chip meal.If you want to get a bit fancy or try something different there's also calamari rings,scallops, sweet chilli prawn skewers or salt n pepper squid to name a few of your options and if you need something to quench your thurst. Local ales such as the classic southern Speights or Emersons are available along with a fine pick of wines and non alcoholic beverages.Locally owned and operated. Take away or sit in and enjoy a warm friendly atmosphere in the heart of Dunedin city.
Reviewed 25 May 2016

What a bargain, fresh cooked fish and chips and a cold glass of wine.
Friendly staff and fast service, plenty to choose from and all delicious.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank willberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2016

The staff was very helpful and friendly making you feel very welcome. Had the Blue Cod with Fries which was good. The beer batter was very light and fluffy not too overwhelming. Service was fast as well. Great place to get a quick fish lunch or dinner at a great price.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AviatorMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We saw a lot of people dining there and wanted something simple and not fancy with good fish, and this place was perfect. We had the blue cod and the squid and both were excellent-- highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank gvaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2016

I was looking forward to a nice big pile of fish and chips. firstly we had the whitebait fritter. This is a tiny offering, One piece, $7.00, and was not to my taste at all. Then we shared the fishermans basket which was quite a generous serve but there was no description of the fish used in this mixture.
The ordering is not straightforward- the board inside didn't seem to list the fish of the day, although the board outside did.
If you are hanging for Bluff oysters, they don't come fresh in their shells and are usually battered.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Francesca R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Thought this place (no pun intended) was supposed to be top rate, the Cod was slightly overcooked and the chips were ok

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Theycallmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Fish hook also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Fish hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.