We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when in Dunedin”

Ironic Cafe and Bar
Ranked #3 of 410 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: **WINNER NZ CAFE OF THE YEAR 2014/2015** OUR FOOD IS FRESH, MODERN AND INNOVATIVE. We source most of our ingredients locally and also use our neighbours at the Otago Farmers Market, Evansdale Cheese, Cairnmuir Central Otago olive oil & fresh fruit & vegetables throughout our changing seasons.
Reviewed 19 July 2018

This place is special- the ambience is wonderfully eclectic and lush!
there was a lovely fire on a cold night; interesting decor and paintings.
The menu was small and perfectly formed. We had the miso salmon- best Ive ever had (and Ive eaten a lot of salmon around the world)- melt in the mouth and beautiful miso crust. We also had a penang curry- not sure what Malaysians would say, but we liked it. The dessert was also interesting- cherry and strawberry cake with roasted coconut shaving on a bed of warm summer fruit, with ginger and fig ice cream.
Service was impeccable. Would come back again- for sure.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped for a coffee before our train tour, highly recommend and is a hop,skip and a jump from the station. Highly recommend as the ambiance is warm like the service and coffees

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 5robs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

We came in for a quick lunch but lingered in the comfy atmosphere. Excellent buttermilk pancakes, crispy fries and a roast vege salad made for a lovely light lunch. Gorgeous views of the rail station from our seats, light music and the contented noise of a full-ish venue was not intrusive at all. Staff were lovely and quick service was appreciated, and decor is quirky without being jarring. Overall very satisfied, keen to return for a full meal.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank E8620YStonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

I went there for brunch with my girlfriend on Sunday. The food was excellent and the service from the waitress Liz was very good. We would definitely go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JonoT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

This cafe/restaurant is one of the best in Dunedin serving both cafe style food as well as full dining.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironic Cafe and Bar also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Ironic Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing