We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Algotels
ZenHotels.com
$154
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michael C
Derby, United Kingdom

Well situated hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2024
We spent two nights at this hotel. Our room was clean and very comfortable. All the staff were efficient and helpful. We had both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant where the food was excellent, The hotel is also well situated for access to the railway station and the city centre.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2024
Kia ora,
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your visit to our city! We hope host you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$232
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $232
1.5 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$191
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
Tripadvisor
$163
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
$300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
9.9 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$142
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free parking
Dunedin Leisure Lodge Main Entrance Daytime SG
Tripadvisor
$162
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $184
  • Expedia.com
    $188
1.8 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $195
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
459
498
188
50
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
459
498
188
50
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast car park room service comfortable bed per night new zealand large room south island visiting dunedin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Friendly staff..high standard of room presentation..comfy bed. Very nice breakfast and coveted secure parking available. Choice of food options and handy that Casino is so accessible. Quick and easy check-in/check-out procedure. Easy walking distance to shops

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Kia ora,
Thank you for the great things you have mentioned on your feedback. It is a pleasure having you stay with us.
Kind regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024

Room perfectly adequate, bed comfortable, bathroom in need of an update - though functional and clean.

Parking is difficult and the staff member who answered the intercom was intentionally unhelpful - bordering on rude.

You'll not rave about the breakfast... but you'll not complain either.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank N7226VNalexg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Thank you for the feedback. The matters raised have been duly noted to further improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

Bathroom letdown otherwise fine. Room was decent enough with plenty of room. Two decent size beds. Good wi-fi but the bathroom was very dated with an over the bath shower but the toilet brush was still dirty from previous guests which was pretty disgusting

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BrundallbazNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Kia ora,
Thank you for your feedback and for bringing this to our attention. I am glad to hear you had a decent room to rest in during your visit to Dunedin.
Kind regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024

A rather dull and slightly run down place. Staff is unfriendly and food is plenty but bad quality. We booked as 34m2 Superior Room and Gott a 21m2 one. When we insisted that the size was too small and the pics didn’t match we were then given a ca 27m2 room by an annoyed, grumpy duty manager. This room had windows letting the cold wind in and the toilet water reservoir was leaking. All in all a bad experience. Worst hotel in 8 weeks in New Zealand. Avoid.

Room tip: Watch out they give you the correct room. Food is mediocre at best, service is low. Unfriendly staff, especially the duty manager.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bluepeaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Dear guest,
Thank you for the feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of you visit in New Zealand.
Kind regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Very old dated hotel, Carpet in Hallway was very old and what looked filthy dirty Tiny bathroom , no air con and it was 28 when we were there they did put a fan in the room whitch was so noisy i could not put up with no longer and at 1am had to get it exchanged (would the person hot have checked them before putting them in room). Old TV no smart tv, parking $23 a night. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone way over priced at $240 something a night. After 1 night I asked to have our second pe-booked night credited but because we had booked through Agoda they said no. Never again stay there.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Relax33821292080
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duty Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews