We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
327
369
138
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
369
138
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffettour groupcar parkcomfortable bedper daynice roomhotel restaurantspeights brewerynew zealandeasy walkfree wifistayed for one nightgreat place to stayrailway stationsouth islandvalet parkingcentral city
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Spacious room with comfortable king bed, tidy decor, helpful staff and good buffet breakfast. It's a reliable no surprises hotel offer. Good location walking distance to Octagon, cafes and bars, Vogel St.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

I recently spent 4 nights here in May while attending a conference.

The room was quite lovely, comfy bed, nicely decorated and good facilities - tea/coffee making, fridge etc.

The bathroom wasn’t awesome, but functional and clean. Really low sink, shower was tough to navigate and I’ve stayed at a lot of hotels with weird showers!

Very nice breakfast was served and there is a pub and a restaurant on site. There is also a casino but we didn’t check that out.

Within easy walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants. I’d stay here and recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Megstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review and feedback, we were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular your breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Kate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

We stayed for 2 nights with our tour group Grand Pacific Tours in May of this year and we had a very pleasant comfortable stay. Our room was very modern, spotlessly clean a large bed, all the amenities we needed for a great stay. We had a fantastic Scottish evening with bagpipes, great food and a special Haggis ceremony at the hotel which was just amazing.
All staff we encounter were professional, friendly and catered to our needs with a smile we really enjoyed our time at the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross and the lovely city of Dunedin.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BendigoVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

I joined a group tour to visit New Zealand in mid-May and t stayed in this Hotel when we arrived Dunedin. The facilities inside room was more than adequate. However, the size of benchtop inside bathroom was abnornally small which made it difficult to accommodate all the stuff for use inside bathroom. The breakfast was of very good quality although the coffee got room for improvement.

Room Tip: Higher level suites.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenyunyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

While on a trip round the South Island, we were booked into this hotel . Advantages - very close to centre of town, Octagon etc.; huge bedrooms and king beds in a twin room; amazing architecture on old part of building including the Casino; a great Buffet Dinner night, and an amazing selection for breakfast daily [ including a big cauldron of porridge as a nod to the Scots Ancestry!]

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rose817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Rose, thank you for your review, we're so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and meals so much and we hope that you will be back to visit us in Dunedin again sometime. Kind regards, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews