We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taieri Gorge Railway
Save
  
Ways to Experience Taieri Gorge Railway
from US$51.96
More Info
from US$148.35
More Info
from US$1,717.52
More Info
Reviews (2,070)
Filter reviews
2,070 results
Traveller rating
1,262
565
179
40
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,262
565
179
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet car train trip great trip train manager great scenery dunedin station hour trip return journey interesting commentary cruise ship take photos recommend this trip taieri gorge viewing platform new zealand visiting dunedin port chalmers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 2,070 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2019 via mobile

To travel on the Taleri Gorge Railway was one of the main reasons we visited Dunedin. We booked to go on the afternoon trip. Arrived at the station in plenty of time to have lunch at Cobb and Co then catch our train. We were told the train was running about 10 minutes late. It was freezing cold and wet waiting on the platform so we moved inside the station, 45 minutes after the train should have departed one of the passengers went to enquire how much longer we had to wait. Only to be told the train had broken down on its way back so our trip was canceled. No official announcement had been made. Found the station staffs attitude very laissez-faire to say the least. They said we could rebook for the next day. When we told them we had to leave Dunedin early the next day and we would like a refund they said they couldn’t do it and that we had to get our refund from the Information Centre All in all a very disappointing experience.

4  Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunedinRailways, Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Hi Lesley,

Thanks for taking time to provide feedback.

Firstly can we apologise for the inconvenience caused. Certainly it is our intention to run all trains and it is very rare we have to cancel any trips, but due to operational issues on this particular day we did not have a choice. It is also very frustrating for ourselves.

Secondly we also apologise that you found issue with the staff's attitude. The team do a great job and had a lot to deal with on this particular day which we believe they did tasks well given the circumstances. An announcement had be made but it may well have been missed by some.

Please feel free to contact us on bookings@dunedinrailways.co.nz should you have any further questions.

If you are back in Dunedin again at some stage and would like to take the trip please let us know.

Again we apolgise for your less than ideal experience with us.

Cheers

Chris Snow
Dunedin Railways



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

I was really looking forward to the experience of the Taieri Gorge train but unfortunately the diesel engine broke down at Middlemarch and we are now waiting for replacement buses to transport us to Dunedin. Not quite the same!

1  Thank martinhB8358FZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunedinRailways, Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Hi There,

Thanks for taking time to write a review.

We apologise that your trip was cut short last weekend. It was very frustrating both for passengers and ourselves but the only option was to coach guests back on this occasion. Hopefully you still enjoyed the view of the gorge on the trip up. It is a nice part of the world.

If you have any questions please feel free to follow up on bookings@dunedinrailways.co.nz.

Cheers

Chris Snow
Dunedin Railways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2019 via mobile

The train journey itself was worth the time and money. Amazing views once you leave Dunedin. The train slows down in places of interest. There are two stops along the way, including the end of the route. The train manager shares stories and says what you can see. No mobile phone reception along the way.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Michalovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

A good solid informative trip through the gorge. Recommend this trip to all. An informative talk on how and why the line was built. Why that particular route was chosen. How gold was found in the area and so on. A 41/2 hr roundtrip

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank colina844
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2019

Did the morning tour on a fine sunny day in late February.
Friendly staff, so so snacking facilities and an informative commentary.
Two hours out and two hours back at a very sedate pace. Good gorge scenery for about one third of each leg. A half day expended for modest return.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank voodoo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews